1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC not recognizing RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Prrebel, Sep 28, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Prrebel

    Prrebel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    681
    I have a PC that is not recognizing a 128 mg Dimm.
    The PC now has 4, 8 Mg simms. I removed the Simms and added the Dimm but I am getting a memory beep error on boot up.

    I am not sure of the name of the motherboard (it has a model number of "MS5129 Ver. 1", but there is a set of dip switches next to the memory slots. Is it possible these dip switch need to be set differently to recognize the Ram?

    FYI the PC is a Pentium 120
     
  2. stufine

    stufine

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    364
    You need to figure out who makes your motherboard so you can go to their website and find out what to set those dipswitches to.

    If you can't find manufacturer's name search altavista or some other engine for that model number it may take a while to find the site but you should find it sooner or later.
     
  3. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    The memory you are trying to add is more than likely 66 MHZ, 100 MHZ, or 133 MHZ and won't be recognized by a mobo that old. More than likely, your mobo will need older dimms like 2 or 4 clock.


    Post your BIOS, and we can try to find what Memory your board requires. You can find your BIOS version by entering setup at boot. Just insert your original memory in order to get the system booting.

    I wi ll also state that most of those older boards had a max memory capacity of 32 MB/ slot. If you have 2 dimm slots, that would mean a max of 64.
     
  4. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    http://www.gland.com.tw/driver/mb/microstar/ms5129/5129p2-12.JPG
    http://www.gland.com.tw/driver/mb/microstar/ms5129/5129p2-14.JPG


    The above 2 links describe the Memory configuration for your board, as far as I can tell.

    http://www.google.com/search?q=cach...7&CatDesc=MSI%2051XX+MS5129+&hl=en&lr=lang_en[/url]

    will show you a page that gives more detailed info, but here is the gist:

     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/54329

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice