PC on/off button not doing anything (sometimes)...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

the_slayer

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
49
Hi,

I have just setup the Antec900 and it seems to run fine. However occasinally i have had the issue where it doesnt respond to me pressing the power button? and i need to press it a few times to get it to turn on...

seems to be more successful if i hold it down for a bit longer... as apposed to a quick press

UPDATE*** (emailed antec support)

contacted antec support and they suggested that it could be the PSU and to try another one... i dont see how the PSU would have started playing up within 1 week of having my perfectly fine system in the antec case...?

i also would have thought that if it were issues with the PSU then i would be seeing weird things while the PC is running...?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
First, check that your wiring from the front of the case to the motherboard is firmly in place. (Meaning the pwr switch wire of course, duh)
 

the_slayer

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
49
already checked that... pulled them out and reseated them... i am using the asus q-connect block... but as mentioned i was using this in my last system and had no problems with it and starting.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,891
Try using the restart switch as the power switch by swapping the leads over at the Mboard, this should show if the problem is with the actual power switch.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
44
it could be the wiring, your outlet, your psu, or maybe mobo. your wireing could be faulty, same wiht oyur outlet or psu or your mobo lol. also, you may be running to many external items, like speakers, mikes, and all usb/firewire/esata drives which is taking up alot of power
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
The power on switch is a normally open switch that in most instances either works or it doesn't work. It is so simple there are seldom any problems with normally open switches.

Check all the connections on the main power and +12v connectors for a loose pin or a pin that shows signs of arcing especially the pin where the green wire in the harness connects.

If you have a molex pin extractor, extract the green wire and check the crimp on the pin.
 

the_slayer

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
49
i just switched the power and reset... so far it has started on the first press... the reset button seems alot more solid whereas the power button on my case seems jiggly...

i wanted to see if i get the same issue now when pressing the (old) power button to try and do a reset... how can i do a few resets without stuffing up anything on my pc?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top