Pc problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Waspie

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
15
Hi,
Im using Windows 98Se

The Problems I have been having is that now my pc cant load the same exact things as it could before, for instance, before I could run CS with opengl mode and not receive any problems, now I try to use it in the same mode but it gets really bad fps and starts to bog up, it would just freeze up on screens for maybe a minute at a time but very frequently, this happens in NbaLive2003 also, before I ran the game fine, now its like a broken record, it skips every frame and doesnt even start. My Pc also tends to crash a good 10x more often. :(

Ive tried using certain programs to help,
Regcleaners,Spybot,RamCleaner......

I just dont know why my pc slowed down all of the sudden......

please may I get Some help,
Thx.

Edit:
Ive noticed alot of people use HijackThis to show their pc information, im wondering if I should do this, Any and all help would be appreciated.

Wasp,
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
I would definately suggest you get and run Hijack This and post the log here to have it evaluated.

In the mean time run a updated virus scan and, a on-line virus scan at http://housecall.trendmico.com

***

Also:

Check your available resources by right-clicking My Computer; clicking Properties; Click the Performance tab. Resources available are displayed as percent there at top. Check it when you get done running the System Configuration Utility mentioned below.

Click the Start button; Run; type 'msconfig', without the quotation marks, in the Run box and click OK; Then click the Startup tab; Uncheck anything you don't need running in the background. For reference on what's not needed running in the background in the System Configuration Utility, view this website first and print out the list:

http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/Running_items.htm

It's important that you print out the above mentioned list. The site provides a printer friendly link.

In the System Configuration Utility (SCU), you can uncheck programs you suspect one at a time and restart your computer. If something doesn't work right, you can always go back into the SCU and re-check it and restart your computer via the Start button. The changes are completely reversible by re-checking an item in SCU or by selecting Normal Startup under the General tab in the SCU and all the programs listed run when Windows starts as it was before you started.
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
It could be that your video card's drivers and/or the hardware itself has simply started to go bad on you.

Let the forum view your HJT log and recommend and the SCU and other tests/fixes listed above before you rush out for another card. OK?
 

Waspie

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
15
very nub question, where can i get hijackthis?
may I get a link please?

And ive ran the virus scans by housecall, no problems =/

looking into the startup uncheck list.

Thanks.

Wasp,
 

Waspie

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
15
teh log >.<

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 5:01:16 PM, on 10/8/03
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CMPDPSRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\RAMCLEANER\RAMCLEANER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\MOUSEWARE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\MY STUFF\PROGRAMS\IROSTUFFS\SKOREKNIGHT\SKORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINOA386.MOD
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSCONFIG.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch = about:blank
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CMPDPSRV] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CMPDPSRV.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] LOGI_MWX.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DirectX64] C:\WINDOWS\System32\DirectXset.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RamCleaner] C:\PROGRAM FILES\RAMCLEANER\RAMCLEANER.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [1A:Stardock TrayMonitor] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\STARDOCK\TRAYSERVER.EXE"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Hidserv] Hidserv.exe run
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mstask.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NVIEW] rundll32.exe nview.dll,nViewLoadHook
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~1\OFFICE10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
O16 - DPF: {525A15D0-4938-11D4-94C7-0050DA20189B} (SnoopyCtrl Class) - http://www.ea.com/downloads/games/common/snoopy/iesnoopy.cab
O16 - DPF: {AB29A544-D6B4-4E36-A1F8-D3E34FC7B00A} - http://www.wildtangent.com/install/wdriver/sportsgames/ssxtricky/ea/wtinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {17163BB4-107E-11D4-9B76-006097DF2317} (EABootStrap Class) - http://www.ea.com/downloads/games/common/boot_strap/iegils.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37872.7600810185
O16 - DPF: {72ED8878-6E16-4EA1-BDD6-3B21EF676E45} (CVTrace Control) - http://www.seevideo.co.kr/pub/cvideox/trace/cvtrace.cab
O16 - DPF: {BF22698D-3BED-4CB0-BA3A-64534FBC32B1} (SVWebPlayer Control) - http://www.seevideo.co.kr/pub/seevideo2002/SVWebPlayer.cab
O16 - DPF: {CF362BDB-4EA2-11D5-AB47-000102913414} (SetGlb Control) - http://tjap.bugsmusic.co.kr/setupfile/SetGlb.cab
O16 - DPF: {64D76536-0173-4873-AEC4-FF0A70DE3781} (BugsPlay Control) - http://tjap.bugsmusic.co.kr/setupfile/bugsplay_115.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Literati - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/tt0_x.cab
O16 - DPF: {66B30EA0-C033-4D4B-9F90-EA0AF07363AF} (BugsMediaPlayer Control) - http://so.bugs.co.kr/BugsOggPlay_6.CAB
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/0fb5e03023def1/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
O16 - DPF: {9A19966F-AE0E-4699-8CCE-9B6F5F1C352C} (NPKXSite Control) - http://211.172.247.223/nprotect/npkx/npkxsite.cab
O16 - DPF: {980105AE-6031-4855-98F0-2CBF5A76F700} (PowerFTP Control) - http://www.wdb.co.kr/noc/powerftp/PowerFTP.CAB
 

Waspie

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
15
bump bump

i was looking into some gfx cards,

what would be the best recommendation for price efficiency?

my pc doesnt have a agp slot so it ahs to be used in a pci slot =/

Also im planning to buy new ram, can someone tell me how to check waht mhz the processor thing is so i can buy the coreect ram?>?
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
What anti-virus are you running? A simple uninstall of the game in question; Restart your computer; then see how it runs now; then re-install the game (anti-virus' Real-Time scanner temporarily disabled).

If you're using Mcaffee and have not recently paid for a definitions update subscription, get free AVG 6.0 from http://www.grisoft.com, then uninstall MCcheapie in the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel, restart your computer; then install AVG.
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
MCcheapie can suddenly cause major inexplicable computer slowdowns.
 

Waspie

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
15
I dont run a virus thing,

it slows my pc alot,

and ive neever used mccaffee

so im suppose to download mcaffee

cheapie?

then uninstall it?

and install AVG?
what is avg??

i got lost @[email protected]

thanks for your help Styxx.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2001
Messages
3,334
Waspie

Your HJT log does show a minor worm on your system:

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DirectX64] C:\WINDOWS\System32\DirectXset.exe


...probably has nothing to do with your problem, but might as well remove it anyway. Close your browser, check that entry in HJT, click fix.

Reboot

Then find and delete this file:

DirectXset.exe


...just to clarify styxx's advice.....I believe he was just wondering if you had McAfee and if you do he recommended you uninstall it and then download AVG which is a free AV application.
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
No anti-virus huh? Not Good! No I did not say get Mcaffee. I said UNINSTALL MCAFFEE and get, free AVG Anti-VIRUS.

Ensure you have a firewall like free Sygate to stop idiot scum hackers. Get the firewall (firewalls are mandatory and are not anti-virus) from http://www.download.com Type, sygate, in the search box and press Enter. You must be on-line to install Sygate by double-clicking the downloaded program's icon. :(
 

Waspie

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
15
um @[email protected]

I so called fixxed, directxset,

then when I start my pc,

the screen is staticy and unseeable,

forced me to do a scanreg /restore in dos.

And its all staticy in dos mode.
Its just good I had to do this soo many times before because I remember the steps lol.

could it be this directxset thing?

how doy ou know to get DIMM or ECC??

@[email protected]
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2001
Messages
3,334
Really doubt it, here's the info on the worm:

http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_100098.htm


Your video problems may be related to your pc sluggishness. Something could have clobbered your video drivers or as styxx mentioned maybe even (video) hardware related. Can you reinstall your video drivers? Download current ones?
 

Waspie

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
15
Can you tell me the steps on reformatting my pc, im about to reformat now. Please tell me how thanks ^^

win98se

Wasp,
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top