1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC randomly turns off then quickly turns itself back on

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GreatCornholio, Apr 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GreatCornholio

GreatCornholio Thread Starter

Hello!

I'm looking for some advice and guidance.
    I am not a technical expert on computer hardware. I understand the basics and that's about the extent of it.

My current PC is a Dell desktop/tower; it runs Windows 7; it uses an Intel Core Duo processor. It is a few years old (I'd estimate 3 or 4 years old). I plug my PC into a Belkin surge protector/multi-outlet device, which plugs into the wall electrical outlet.

My problem is that recently the PC randomly has been instantly powering-down and then a few seconds later powering-up again and rebooting. This happens twice or 3 times a day, on average. I have no explanation for it. I do know that it's highly annoying and I'm concerned and want to do something to fix this problem before any permanent damage occurs to my PC.