Solved PC Randomly Turns Off

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SaucyLife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
6
My PC randomly shuts down. This all started roughly two weeks ago, but it keeps getting worse and more frequent. When it shuts down I have to flip the switch in the back, wait a few seconds, then flip it again before restarting. The power button on the front does nothing.
(The PC is completely off when it shuts down. It's not running at all)


I pinpointed the problem down to 3 possibilities out of everything I found on google that could be causing this.

1. Drivers are not up to date (this is a very high possibility BUT I think something is wrong because the updates are endless. Every time I log on to my PC, I get a notification from AMD that there is a new update available. I spent about an hour the other day just updating and restarting my PC over and over. Whats up with that?)

2. Overheating seems to be a common issue especially since it is Summer. BUT I have turned my fans up manually to 100%, simply started Overwatch, and just sat there at the Main Menu. My PC turned off within 30 seconds. I would say that is the issue but I have had my PC turn off during a Youtube video or just browsing the internet..... Plus my PC can handle BF4 and Overwatch with ease so why would it be an issue now?

3. I might have a virus. Windows Defender has been known to not be the best ( I have experienced this first hand) so this could be a possibility but I dont know for sure obviously.

I joined this website for this issue because I really dont know exactly what I am doing.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
Processor: AMD A10-5800K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 21 Model 16 Stepping 1
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 15563 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7660D
Hard Drives: C: Total - 953766 MB, Free - 200864 MB; E: Total - 99 MB, Free - 63 MB; F: Total - 30517 MB, Free - 16571 MB;
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., F2A85XM-D3H
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

Please Help. Thanks!

**EDIT**
I decided to start updating through the AMD website instead of the application and got a different result.
The picture:
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Saturable

Mark
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
366
I recommend running the AMD Clean Uninstall Utility and downloading fresh AMD drivers via the AMD Driver Autodetect tool. Your GPU could be too old to be able to run the newer 16.7.2 drivers, which appears to be what happened. Although, the installation wouldn't generally allow you to proceed with a driver installation that your GPU isn't compatible with, so I find that a bit strange.
 

SaucyLife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
6
I recommend running the AMD Clean Uninstall Utility and downloading fresh AMD drivers via the AMD Driver Autodetect tool. Your GPU could be too old to be able to run the newer 16.7.2 drivers, which appears to be what happened. Although, the installation wouldn't generally allow you to proceed with a driver installation that your GPU isn't compatible with, so I find that a bit strange.
This whole situation is strange. The Driver it wants me to use is too old to play any game (ANY GAME) so I just decided to email AMD about this. I hope they clear stuff up for me. I plan to upgrade by the end of this year but I would still like to use my perfectly good Graphics card in the mean time.
 

Saturable

Mark
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
366
... The Driver it wants me to use is too old to play any game (ANY GAME) ...
What do you mean by this? Drivers don't dictate which games you can play. They generally improve optimization in those games, and the drivers it wants you to use are the ones compatible with your card (and your card isn't new, I'll tell you that). Moreover, it's is unlikely to be able to run newer games at acceptable frame rates; it just doesn't have the necessary horsepower.
 

SaucyLife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
6
What do you mean by this? Drivers don't dictate which games you can play. They generally improve optimization in those games, and the drivers it wants you to use are the ones compatible with your card (and your card isn't new, I'll tell you that). Moreover, it's is unlikely to be able to run newer games at acceptable frame rates; it just doesn't have the necessary horsepower.
When I started Overwatch (a game I could play at max settings no problem before) an error message popped up saying that my Drivers are out-dated and that I would have a better experience if I update. I technically can play the game but the menu had the worst resolution, it was stuttering very bad, and all my video settings were automatically turned down to lowest possible. Completely unplayable.

So I tried another game called Runescape (a game that basically any PC can handle) and it was also unplayable.

So AMD wants me to update to 16.7 drivers but also wants me to keep the 15.7 drivers....
 

Oddba11

Jim
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,032
I've seen this twice (ie: you have to flip the switch on the power supply off and back on before the system will power on). Both times it was a faulty power supply.

Also, shut downs are almost always a hardware issue. Typical causes are the power supply or motherboard. Software/driver issues typically result in lockups or BSOD.
 

Saturable

Mark
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
366
I've seen this twice (ie: you have to flip the switch on the power supply off and back on before the system will power on). Both times it was a faulty power supply.

Also, shut downs are almost always a hardware issue. Typical causes are the power supply or motherboard. Software/driver issues typically result in lockups or BSOD.
I agree. A likely scenario would be that his PSU isn't providing enough power for the system resulting in an underpowered GPU thus the terrible frame rates. After a while, the system doesn't have enough power to continue and shuts down.
 

SaucyLife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
6
I agree. A likely scenario would be that his PSU isn't providing enough power for the system resulting in an underpowered GPU thus the terrible frame rates. After a while, the system doesn't have enough power to continue and shuts down.
Alright I just ordered a newer, better power supply so hopefully that fixes my problems. Might as well give that a try since nothing else seems to be working.
 

Oddba11

Jim
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,032
I don't recall if EVGA is decent quality or not, and for whatever reason, newegg (or at least that link) won't open at the moment.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Messages
5,576
Those a10 5800k tend to run hot ....100w apu (had one) are u running a stock Amd heatsink if so recommend getting a good after market
And as mentioned if u have to use the switch at the back of the PSu......power supply issues
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
1,157
The EVGA power supplies seem to be OK and, at least, don't have split 12 volt power supplies; but, a word of caution, read the labels on the sockets on it! One says CPU, another says VGA, so don't confuse things and use the wrong cables, OK!
 

SaucyLife

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
6
Seems to work fine! I spent two days with my new power supply just to make sure and have had no problems at all.
Thanks, guys!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top