1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Pc shuts down randomly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ComputerVirgin, Nov 10, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. ComputerVirgin

    ComputerVirgin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    So my pc randomly turns off then turns back on like nothing just happened. It happens when I'm just scrolling through the internet or playing a game. When it happens my screen freezes for like 3 seconds then the computer shuts down and turns back on right after. I run windows 10 with an Asus 470x tuf gaming motherboard and a Ryzen 5 3600 cpu. I have a Radeon RX 5700 XT Red Devil gpu and have 16gb of memory. I have one Samung 860 evo SSD and one Western Blue one TB HDD. This all runs on a 600w 80plus power supply. I checked all the power requirements before hand and everything is fine so I'm not too sure what is causing my pc to shutdown randomly. This isn't the only problem, my screen randomly goes black while gaming for around 3-5 seconds which also lead me to think its some kind of power problem but I don't know.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,818
    1. Send please the results of our system information utility
    Copy the info in the white box by right click and copy and then paste to reply
    https://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe

    2. Also send please the make and FULL model of the PSU

    3. what Anti Virus is in use please

    4. How long has this been problem, since the system was built OR more recently

    5. Have you checked Event Viewer system log to see if the reports there are of assistance.
     
    ComputerVirgin likes this.
  3. ComputerVirgin

    ComputerVirgin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    1.
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 23 Model 113 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 12
    RAM: 16303 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 465 GB (104 GB Free); D: 931 GB (369 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., TUF X470-PLUS GAMING
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

    2.It's an Apevia Prestige Series ATX-PR600W 80 plus gold non-modular active pfc power supply

    3.I don't have an antivirus, I just use the Windows Defender already installed

    4.Its been a problem since the system was built. I have only replaced the GPU and SSD but the problem also existed before the switch.

    5.There really isn't anything helpful in event viewer. No critical errors but some errors like "Device setup manager" and "Kernal event tracing"
     
  4. ComputerVirgin

    ComputerVirgin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Also I'm using CPUID HWmonitor to monitor temps on my pc and my cpu is running around 40-50 degrees celsius and the motherboard is getting up to the same temps 40-5- degrees celsius. Are these temps ok for these parts? or are they overheating making my pc shutdown randomly? Also these temps are the pc at idle, not under heavy workload.
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,818
    Not a PSU brand that receives good reviews
    Monitor voltages both on HW Monitor AND more importantly on the Asus EZ mode BIOS screen

    IMHO that PSU or any of that quality level is not something I would use on that motherboard or other components

    Some reviews of Apevia PSU`s have reported 11volts on the 12v rail under load.

    You really need something on the lines of
    https://www.ebuyer.com/659513-corsair-hx850i-850-watt-power-supply-cp-9020073-uk
    not necessarily that 850 but of that standard.

    Were it to be me, and depending on the results of voltage monitoring (as if they show incorrect readings with drop under load, then obviously you will replace PSU)
    I would try a quality PSU even if it does not solve the problem, which I thi9nk it may well do, at least you know your system is better protected from the risk of using a cheaper one.
     
    SarahSims likes this.
  6. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,501
    as mentioned......... Apevia = junk
    always has been, even their cases are of low quality
    you have nice components, expensive components why did you skimp on the power supply?
     
    SarahSims likes this.
  7. ComputerVirgin

    ComputerVirgin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Awesome I will most likely buy a new power supply. I was thinking about it and was debating if I wanted to go through the hassle of ALL the wires but I will try it for sure. Thank you so much for the suggestion.
    Because I'm stupid. I'm pretty new to computers so I thought that if the psu has the gold certification i thought its good until i actually learned what that meant. I just upgraded to a 850W Corsair PSU and the problem is now gone so yeah I agree, Apevia=junk.
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,818
    Please be assured that you are not
    I mean that most genuinely
    Many people see the gold certification and think it is OK

    Which Corsair have you bought?
     
  9. ComputerVirgin

    ComputerVirgin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    The one you recommended kind sir. Works perfectly ,little bit of a pain unplugging everything then plugging it back in but it was worth it. I had it same day delivered from Amazon, I was ready for this upgrade. :)
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,818
    Cheers
    Pleased to have helped
    Please mark your topic solved
    Click mark solved on your opening post
     
  11. ComputerVirgin

    ComputerVirgin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thank you for all the help, appreciate it a ton and thanks for the reminder.
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,818
    Cheers
    Hope all goes Ok
    A nice setup
     
  13. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,425
    The HX series is very high quality. You really should not have much problem with wires/cables; that is a modular pw supply. At least you will not have a LOT of extra cables.
    Just for future reference, when you are going to do a build or upgrade, post your parts list here. We can give you an idea if the parts are quality, work well together, etc.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235521

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice