1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC Shuts down soon after booting up (after dust removal inside)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by donaldcrowhurst, Jul 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. donaldcrowhurst

    donaldcrowhurst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Hi

    Ok, so I decided the clean the dust from the inside of my desktop PC using compressed air. I followed precautionary advice like not touching the components inside other than the fans etc

    Now I boot up the PC and after 5 minutes of being on it powers off immediately. :mad:

    Is there a hardware check I can do or a list of most likelys? I really hope something major is not damaged

    Any help would be much appreciated!!

    Thanks
     
  2. donaldcrowhurst

    donaldcrowhurst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    This is a HW monitor report:

    PUID HWMonitor Report
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Binaries
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    HWMonitor version 1.1.9.0

    Monitoring
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Mainboard Model M2N68-AM Plus (0x000003BA - 0x6B24E713)

    LPCIO
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    LPCIO Vendor ITE
    LPCIO Model IT8712
    LPCIO Vendor ID 0x90
    LPCIO Chip ID 0x8712
    LPCIO Revision ID 0x8
    Config Mode I/O address 0x2E
    Config Mode LDN 0x4
    Config Mode registers
    00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    10 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    20 87 12 08 11 00 C1 60 31 00 00 01 00 06 00 00 00
    30 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    40 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    50 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    60 02 90 02 30 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    70 00 02 00 00 04 04 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    Register space LPC, base address = 0x0290


    Hardware Monitors
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hardware monitor ITE IT87
    Voltage 0 1.36 Volts [0x55] (CPU VCORE)
    Voltage 2 3.34 Volts [0xD1] (+3.3V)
    Voltage 4 12.67 Volts [0xC6] (+12V)
    Voltage 5 -6.40 Volts [0x64] (-12V)
    Voltage 8 3.23 Volts [0xCA] (VBAT)
    Temperature 0 46°C (114°F) [0x2E] (TMPIN0)
    Temperature 1 33°C (91°F) [0x21] (TMPIN1)
    Fan 0 3125 RPM [0xD8] (FANIN0)
    Fan 1 2637 RPM [0x100] (FANIN1)
    Fan PWM 0 99 pc [0x7F] (FANPWM0)
    Fan PWM 1 99 pc [0x7F] (FANPWM1)
    Fan PWM 2 99 pc [0x7F] (FANPWM2)
    Register space LPC, base address = 0x0290

    00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 19 10 FF 03 00 00 00 00 00 80 40 09 03 D8 00 00
    10 FF FF FF 37 87 7F 7F 7F 00 01 00 FF FF FF FF FF
    20 55 FF D1 FF C6 64 FF FF CA 2E 21 80 EF F4 F4 F4
    30 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    40 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 2D FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    50 35 18 7F 7F 7F 00 56 56 90 56 F9 12 E0 00 00 00
    60 7F 7F 7F 00 00 7F FF FF 7F 7F 7F 00 00 7F FF FF
    70 7F 7F 7F 00 00 7F FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    80 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF CA 02 00 99 99
    90 7F 7F 7F 00 00 7F FF FF 7F 7F 7F 00 00 7F FF FF
    A0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    B0 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    C0 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    D0 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    E0 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    F0 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF

    Hardware monitor AMD ADL
    Voltage 0 0.95 Volts [0x3B6] (VIN0)
    Temperature 0 72°C (161°F) [0x48] (TMPIN0)


    Processors
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Number of processors 1
    Number of threads 2

    APICs
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Processor 0
    -- Core 0
    -- Thread 0 0
    -- Core 1
    -- Thread 0 1

    Processors Information
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Processor 1 ID = 0
    Number of cores 2 (max 2)
    Number of threads 2 (max 2)
    Name AMD Phenom II X2 555
    Codename Callisto
    Specification AMD Phenom(tm) II X2 555 Processor
    Package Socket AM3 (938)
    CPUID F.4.3
    Extended CPUID 10.4
    Brand ID 29
    Core Stepping RB-C3
    Technology 45 nm
    TDP Limit 80 Watts
    Core Speed 3214.5 MHz
    Multiplier x FSB 16.0 x 200.9 MHz
    HT Link speed 1004.5 MHz
    Instructions sets MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V
    L1 Data cache 2 x 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L1 Instruction cache 2 x 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L2 cache 2 x 512 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L3 cache 6 MBytes, 48-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    FID/VID Control yes
    Min FID 4.0x
    # of P-States 4
    P-State FID 0x10 - VID 0x12 - IDD 31 (16.00x - 1.325 V)
    P-State FID 0x9 - VID 0x1A - IDD 28 (12.50x - 1.225 V)
    P-State FID 0x5 - VID 0x1C - IDD 26 (10.50x - 1.200 V)
    P-State FID 0x100 - VID 0x1C - IDD 14 (4.00x - 1.200 V)


    Package Type 0x1
    Model 55
    String 1 0x7
    String 2 0x6
    Page 0x0
    CmpCap 2
    ApicIdCoreSize 4
    TDC Limit 62 Amps
    Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 0
    Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 1
    Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 2
    Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 3
    Attached device PCI device at bus 0, device 24, function 4
     
  3. donaldcrowhurst

    donaldcrowhurst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    CPU temp in BIOS is 58 C, so thats fine Im assuming
    After opening the case and powering the pc, all fans are running except the graphics card fan

    Could the graphics fan be the fault
    please help ;(
     
  4. donaldcrowhurst

    donaldcrowhurst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    I did think there would be somebody on here that could offer some help. Unless Ive broken the rules in some way. Well, Ive removed the graphics card and the PC has not shut down yet (touch wood!!!!) I realise that saying that may severely jinx me and my PC will die at any minute.

    So now after cleaning the card, do I risk putting it back???
     
  5. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    If the graphics card fan wasn't running then that very well could be the problem. I assume you are now able to run the computer with the onboard graphics.
    Try reinstalling the GPU and see if the fan starts up it could have been just a bad connection. If the fan doesn't start up it has probably died. Some fans on GPUs can be replaced, sometimes it's just best to get a new GPU.
     
  6. techniquev3

    techniquev3

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    There is no risk putting it back, try it as you may have knocked it out of place which is causing the shut down. Try re-seating all the components if that doesn't work.
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,686
    One thing I see is that you have a low pw amd cpu [555] You post your temp is 58C in the bios; that is too hot. That cpu should be running in the low 30s under a no load condition [which is what it is in when running in the bios]

    Check the fan mounting to see if you have perhaps broken a retaining clip or maybe the thermal compound has dried out and is no longer working correctly.
    Max temp on that cpu is 70C so it is still within limits however your temp is going to get hotter than 58C when you put the cpu under a load ie video encoding, gaming, etc.
     
  8. donaldcrowhurst

    donaldcrowhurst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    thanks for the replies, I cleaned and replaced the GPU and that seems to have done the trick. I am a bit worried about the temp of the CPU thoug so Im going to monitor that
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1059294