1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC starts all on it's own

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Toyman, Dec 15, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Toyman

    Toyman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    My friend has a pc with Win 2000 installed and told me after shutting it off for an hour or so it will turn it's self back on. Anybody have any idea why this would happen? Any help is greatly appreciated?
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    It may be bad RAM, though thats usually when it restarts from when you are using it.

    Also, is it actually shutdown or is it in standby, and is he on cable internet?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. Toyman

    Toyman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    He's not on cable, and i think he would notice the diff between shutdown and stand by.....lol.....just out of curiosity could it be the CMOS battery going bad that would cause it?
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    If the battery was going, is he losing any info, like his clock going slow? You can take it out and put it back in, or completly replace it.
    It may also be a power supply problem.

    Is it fully shut down, I mean? Just seems a bit strange, that's why I was asking about the cable. It may be comprimised. Is it always about an hour?

    Has he installed any new hardware lately?

    eddie
     
  5. Toyman

    Toyman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    Good questions Eddie.....Thanks.

    I'll have to ask him and get back.
     
  6. AtreideS

    AtreideS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    651
    lol, I wish I knew how to set a computer up so that it turns on after 1 hour. I can just imagine now, all my friends computers with a mind of their own. hhehehehe. Sorry, I didn't post here to help you your problem ;)
     
  7. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Another thought may be if the system came with a preinstalled
    nic card the wake-on-lan jumper may be installed. Try going to the bios and disabling the wake-on-lan function.
    Dave
     
  8. Randy48

    Randy48

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Toyman, check the BIOS setup and see if the machine is set to restart after a power failure! This is a feature on newer boards and if it set to restart, any surge in the power would restart the machine!


    eddie5659- You won't be Spookie Eddie would you?
     
  9. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Randy48: Fraid not, always been eddie5659 on any forum on the web.

    eddie
     
  10. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Can a maintenance program or anything else be scheduled to restart a computer?

    also see this... http://xforce.iss.net/static/2529.php to configure the system NOT to automatically reboot upon failure or lock-up.

    not sure if it applys though



    Savvy:)
     
  11. Toyman

    Toyman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    some good suggestions......... i'll check with him and come back to report the results

    Thanks everyone...
     
  12. Toyman

    Toyman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    Sorry it took so long to reply but anyway...

    Mt friend tried everything and nothing worked so he ended up putting windows ME back on. He said someone told him that windows 2000 and his mother board weren't compatible or something like that. He hasn't had the problem since putting ME on so whatever it was it had to do with 2000 causing the problem. Thanks for all the suggestions.

    toyman
     
  13. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Okay

    Might have been interesting to look at the MB angle, but if he has ME and its working, why bother.

    See Ya

    eddie
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61899

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice