Pc stuck in bios

Rasan.i

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2021
Messages
5
my brother has given me his pc as he hasn’t used it in months. When I load the pc it works fine until I try To load somthing and it blue screens. After that I get stuck in the bios. Is this a common issue or not
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
5,199
When a PC has trouble reading the hard drive/SSD that contains the Operating System, (such as Windows), it has no choice but to boot into the PC's BIOS Setup.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,878
Does it get into Windows ?

What do you mean by 'until I try to load something' - Do you mean until you try to run a program/app ?
 

Rasan.i

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2021
Messages
5
Does it get into Windows ?

What do you mean by 'until I try to load something' - Do you mean until you try to run a program/app ?
Yes I do get into windows and by load somthing I mean load any application like steam, google, gta
 

Rasan.i

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2021
Messages
5
When a PC has trouble reading the hard drive/SSD that contains the Operating System, (such as Windows), it has no choice but to boot into the PC's BIOS Setup.
Why is that happening and is there a solution to that, also could it have anything to do with the pc being full of dust
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
42,546
Dust can cause heat issues so if you can clean it out with a can of air then do so.

As to the problem itself, whenever you get a 2nd hand computer, it is best to do a clean install of the machine, that way the possibility of issues being software will be remote.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
5,199
When a PC has trouble reading the hard drive/SSD that contains the Operating System, (such as Windows), it has no choice but to boot into the PC's BIOS Setup.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
5,199
If the hard drive/SSD cannot be seen in the BIOS, check to make sure it is connected correctly, If it is and still can't be seen by the computer, it is probably dead and needs to be replaced. To double-check though, connect it to another computer and see if it is accessible.

If not, it will need to be replaced with a new one. Then either restore your last backup or reinstall Windows, all of your programs, etc.

Let us know what you find out ...
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top