PC Tower full of dirt and dust

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bbrox

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1
Hey guys,merry christmas (a bit late,i guess)

Today,I wanted to unpack my pc.I was impatient to install linux mint x64 on my Quadro fx5500+4 gb ram+ core 2 quad and turn it into a monster.But when I had unpacked the pc,I saw it was full of dirt.Hope everything's fine and nothing's damaged but i have to clear out the dirt first and this thing got SERIOUSLY dirty.What do you suggest?
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
893
Vacuum, but careful. Or take it outside, put on a mask and blow away, but also careful :)
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,438
I have seen much dustier. Get a can of air and blow it out; might also be a good idea to take the system outside to blow it out.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
If you know what you're doing then take it apart completely as I can guarantee there's dust under that motherboard. I haven't seen something that dirty in years!
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
34
Took mine out to the shop, put on safety glasses and used a air nozzle hooked to 100 PSI, that dust just disappeared!!!
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,438
Took mine out to the shop, put on safety glasses and used a air nozzle hooked to 100 PSI, that dust just disappeared!!!
That is really asking to damage something. I sometimes use my air compressor to clean systems however I use a blowgun with a VERY small, restricted nozzle to blow out the system.

Using an unrestricted nozzle is going to damage a fan, knock loose a connection, etc.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,922
A mask would also be required for that! :D
Possible Hazmat suit too... :D

I agree with Crjdriver, using that type of pressure could cause damage. Hopefully your computer is fine but I would suggest to refrain from using it.
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
I use my Compressor to clean out all of my computers, but the pressure is turned down to about 12PSI. Higher pressure as stated may cause damage.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
605
Also compressors create moisture so if there's no inline water trap installed it's possible to bath your motherboard in moisture.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
34
That is really asking to damage something. I sometimes use my air compressor to clean systems however I use a blowgun with a VERY small, restricted nozzle to blow out the system.

Using an unrestricted nozzle is going to damage a fan, knock loose a connection, etc.
Well, you have to be careful, of course you don't blast sensitive parts with full pressure.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top