1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC vs. MAC

Discussion in 'Random Discussion' started by jasonrosegiese, Nov 20, 2001.

Advertisement
  1. jasonrosegiese

jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

Hello everyone,
    Well since I'm not having any problems right now, I decided to come in here, and start an argument. Please correct me if any of the info is incorrect. I'm pretty new to the PC world, and there's a lot I don't know, like almost everything, but I did build my own PC, and it only took 2 or 3 threads to make it work right. ( not bad for a newbee)
    I was just playing a friends new iMAC, and I have a couple questions to address.

I was baffled when I looked through the specs on this rotten apple( remember, this iMAC was baught new this summer for $1299)
    G3 233MHz(300 max)
    32mb ram(128 max)
    4 gig hdd

Why so low? Does apple measure there numbers different?

The PC I built is using mostly used parts (most of which are from 1997) runs at 450MHz, with 512 Mb ram, and is capable of 800MHz, with 1024Mb of ram.

I spent less than $500, and that includes everything, even the 4 speaker surround with a powered sub, and a 15 in. monitor.

The worst thing is, he thinks his apple is fast. It didn't seem that much faster than the old 486dx100 MHz I just gave away.

Is the fancy colored shell all iMac has going for them?

"MAC from OK" I'm looking foward to hearing from you. Maybe you can shed some light on this.

2. MacFromOK

MacFromOK

Hey Jason, :)

Well the "Mac" in my name is just a nickname for
    me. Has nothing to do with my computer, which
    is a PC.

I have only two words concerning my preference
    for a PC: "SOFTWARE AVAILABILITY"...

I'm guessing you can get more FREE software for
    a PC than you can beg, borrow, buy, or steal
    for a MAC computer...