PC will not boot(No Power)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nfinit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
90
Hi All
I have a
Windows 98SE
AZ11 Motherboard with AMD 700 mhz
128 MB RAM
30 GB HD

My machine froze one day and I did a hard shutdown and never powered it up. When I came back to power it up, it will not power up at all. It is as though it has no power, but everything on the surge protector is working
I have changed the power supply and still no power
Do I need to change the CMOS battery???( I am thinking not)

I was last on Kazaa,

Can someone tell me what could be the problem???


Thanks
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,424
The motherboard controls the power-on, if the supply has been replaced, the MB/processor seem to be the next place to look.
 

nfinit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
90
I had no probelms with my computer except that the video card would stall when running a game and I would have to reboot.

What would make the MB/Processor go bad???
How can I check to see which one is causing the problems???


Thanks
 

nfinit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
90
Heat is not a problem....


So this could be because of a faulty surge protector????

Is there a way I can check to see if the CPU or board is bad???
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
983
you will want to check the conections to the power on switch . then you know that it is either the board or the cpu . if possible try another cpu . if not take it to the shop . because I am allways playing around with these things I seem to have spare stuff I can try for testing .
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Originally posted by nfinit1:
Heat is not a problem....

Probably isn't now...............but........

a question, if the computer is not even starting up now, how could you ascertain that this wasn't the problem the last time it froze? :confused:
 

nfinit1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
90
About once a month I would do a full system check, cleaning out tmp files, scandisk, defrag, run Norton utilities, etc and the Bios has a temp status...never was high at all

Oh well, guess its back to building another PC
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Originally posted by nfinit1:
About once a month I would do a full system check, cleaning out tmp files, scandisk, defrag, run Norton utilities, etc and the Bios has a temp status...never was high at all
Not to try to beat a dead horse, but, I don't access my bios setup every time I start my computer just to check the temp......if the cpu fan would stop spinning one day......one minute or more......that's all it takes :(

You might have a look around to see if you can see any damaged spots on the cpu or motherboard.............
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top