1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC will not start up...

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tker, Dec 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tker

    tker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    My pc running xp died about 2 years ago, I just bought a new one and didn't bother to sort it out. I think I may have downloaded some dodgy software that had a virus or something with it.

    It will begin to start up, I can choose to go into the bios or continue. If I continue I get a loading screen, this starts to load but then stops soon after at the same point every time, here is a pic:

    [​IMG]


    Ideally I would like to sort this out without losing any data, but i don't mind reformatting if there's no other way.

    Also what would happen if i put the hard drive in my windows 7 pc as a slave drive? Any way to access the data this way?

    Any help hugely appreciated.
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    You should be able to access the data by hooking it up to another PC.

    Please run the following and post the log:

    NOTE: Unless otherwise advised please use a clean working PC to download and copy FRST to a Flash Drive.
    Use these links to download the correct version for your operating system and save it to the Flash Drive.
    For x32 (x86) bit systems download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool 32-Bit
    For x64 bit systems download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool 64-Bit

    NOTE: For Windows 7 systems only: If you cannot get Option 1 to work you can make a Recovery disc to use for Option 2.
    Just do this: Click on Start > Control Panel and select Backup and Restore. In the left hand pane select Create a System Recovery disc and follow the prompts.
    This can be done on any Windows 7 PC but it must have the same bit rate as the infected PC, i.e. 64 or 32bit.

    Plug the flashdrive into the infected PC.

    Enter System Recovery Options by using Option 1 or Option 2
    STEP 1
    Option 1
    To enter the System Recovery Options from the Advanced Boot Options:

    • Restart the computer.
    • As soon as the BIOS is loaded begin tapping the F8 key until the Advanced Boot Options menu appears.
    • Use the arrow keys to select Repair your computer and hit the Enter key. If Repair your computer is not in the menu you will need to follow Option 2 below.
    • Select US as the keyboard language settings, and then click Next. If you know your keyboard is for another language then select that from the list.
    • The system will scan for installed operating systems. Select the operating system you want to repair, and then click Next.
    • Select your user account and click Next. If there is only one user account this will go straight to the System Recovery Options.
    • Now go to the instructions for STEP 2.


    Option 2
    To enter the System Recovery Options by using a Windows installation or Recovery disc:

    • Insert the Installation or Recovery disc.
    • Restart your computer.
    • If prompted, press any key to start Windows from the installation disc. If your computer is not configured to start from a CD or DVD, check your BIOS settings.
    • Click Repair your computer. NOTE: This Option will be skipped if using a Recovery disc.
    • Select US as the keyboard language settings, and then click Next. If you know your keyboard is for another language then select that from the list.
    • The system will scan for installed operating systems. Select the operating system you want to repair, and then click Next.
    • Select your user account and click Next. If there is only one user account this will go straight to the System Recovery Options.
    • Now go to the instructions for STEP 2.


    NOTE: If you are unable to complete either Option 1 or 2 then stop and let me know. This tool will only run correctly if you are able to get to the System Recovery Options menu.

    STEP 2
    On the System Recovery Options menu you will get the following options:

    Startup Repair
    System Restore
    Windows Complete PC Restore
    Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool
    Command Prompt


    • Select Command Prompt
    • In the command window type in notepad and press Enter.
    • The Notepad opens. Click on File and select Open.
    • Select Computer and find your flash drive below Devices with Removable Storage make a note of the drive letter and close Notepad.
    • In the command window type e:\frst.exe (for x64 bit version type e:\frst64) and press Enter
      Note: Replace letter e with the drive letter of your flash drive.
      NOTE: if you receive an error message "the system cannot find the drive specified" go back into Notepad and check the drive letter for the Flash Drive, also note the letter can change on subsequent runs.
    • The tool will start to run.
    • When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer. (This may not appear on all systems).
    • Press the Scan button. The progress bar may freeze for a while which is normal, leave it undisturbed and it will complete the scan.
    • It will make a log (FRST.txt) on the flash drive. Put the Flash drive back in a working PC, open Windows Explorer and then click on the Flash Drive. Double click on FRST.txt then Copy & Paste the log into your next reply. Please DO NOT send the log as an attachment.
     
  3. tker

    tker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks for your reply, I'm still having problems though. There is no "Repair your computer" option. I've tried to boot from the recovery disc but i get the exact same loading screen that i posted earlier, i'm not even sure if the dvd drive is working anymore. When you say that i should be able to access the data by hooking it up to another pc, how would i do that, which cable would i need etc?
     
  4. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    What type of PC do you have available for hooking up the hard drive, Laptop or Desktop.

    If that is a Recovery disc that came with the PC it will not work, follow the instructions below to make a boot disc, this will get you to the Recovery Environment following the instructions in Option 2.


    • Please download ARCDC from Artellos.com.
    • Double click ARCDC.exe
    • Follow the dialog until you see 6 options. Please pick: Windows Professional SP2 & SP3
      ( Replace "Windows Professional SP2 & SP3" with the OS required. <<< IMPORTANT)
    • You will be prompted with a Terms of Use by Microsoft, please accept.
    • You will see a few dos screens flash by, this is normal.
    • Next you will be able to choose to add extra files. Select the Default Files.
    • The last window will allow you to burn the disk using BurnCDCC
    • The ISO file will be found on your desktop.
     
  5. tker

    tker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Ok, i think we're getting somewhere. I followed your instructions, burned the cd and i am currently on a page asking me: "Which Windows installation would you like to log onto? (To cancel press ENTER)?"

    I can only enter 1 single number or letter.


    edit:

    here is what i get when starting up with the cd in the drive...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    I found this: http://everything2.com/title/Windows+XP+won%2527t+start+up+-+how+to+fix+it

    should i follow these instructions? it's home edition btw, that website states that this solution is for professional edition.
     
  6. tker

    tker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Just realised it's actually Media Centre Edition 2004. There wasn't an option for that on ARCDC, i burned the cd using home sp2/3.
     
  7. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    I would not advise following instructions in the link you posted as it may not apply to your particular problem. It won't boot up, but we don't know the cause yet.

    The ARCDC has worked fine so no need to worry about the version.

    In your last screenshot you need to enter 1 and hit the Enter key.

    The instructions for using FRST are tailored for Vista and Windows 7 so do vary slightly. After you have entered 1 follow the instructions in STEP 2 from this line: In the command window type in notepad and press Enter.
     
  8. tker

    tker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    "In the command window type in notepad and press Enter"

    Does that mean it should look like this: "C:\Windows>notepad" if so it tells me "The command is not recognized Type HELP for a list of supported commands"
     
  9. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    I'm just checking this on an XP machine.
     
  10. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    A thousand apologies, for FRST to run on an XP machine it needs to be booted with a BartPE CD, which I will look into.

    Meanwhile, use the ARCDC disc to boot to the Command Prompt and type in 1 as before.

    At the prompt type fixmbr and hit Enter, type Exit and hit Enter.

    Then hold down these three keys Ctrl, Alt, Del, Task Manager will open, click on Shut Down on the top of the box and select Restart from the drop down menu.

    As Long as a damaged MBR was the only problem Windows XP should now boot normally.

    Please let me know if it now boots, if not please try to boot into Safe Mode, star tapping the F8 key as soon as you switch on, use the arrow keys to select Safe Mode and hit Enter, tell me if that works.
     
  11. tker

    tker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I did fixmbr and was told it was successful. Typing exit restarts the computer straight away so i couldn't get the task manager up.

    Unfortunately the problem still exists, whether i try to start it normally or in safe mode it always comes back to that loading screen that never loads.
     
  12. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    In order to run FRST it needs a BartPE disc and you can only make that disc if you have a retail copy of XP so we will have to forget that unless you can borrow a copy of XP Professional or Media Center.

    Shame fixmbr didn't work and that could indicate a deeper problem. Next try the same process and use the command fixboot

    If that fails we can have a go at a few other things.

    Boot the PC whilst tapping the F8 key and select Last Known Good Configuration.

    If that fails we can try to use system restore.


    Boot from the ARCDC disc and select R to get to the Command Prompt.

    At the Command Prompt, type CD C:\ and press Enter, then type:

    C:\windows\system32\restore\rstrui.exe
    and press Enter.

    Follow the instructions given to perform the System Restore process.
     
  13. tker

    tker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Still no luck. Fixboot didn't work, i had already tried "Last known good configuration" but i gave it another shot.. no joy.

    When i try to launch system restore it gives me that "The command is not recognized....." message. There is a > after the \ which i can't get rid of if that matters? So it looks like C:\>windows\s.....

    I have a pc running windows 7 and a laptop running xp as well as 3 discs that came with the broken pc, 2 recovery discs and one that is XP Service pack 1 if these could help in any way?
     
  14. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    None of the discs you have can be used as the one required has to be a Retail installation disc, a manufacturer's OEM disc is just for a full reinstall and won't work. Windows 7 will make a boot disc so I am going to experiment to see if that will work with XP and FRST. What bit rate is the Windows 7 PC 32 or 64bit?

    You've done the commands correctly, but I think it is my fault that is not working, the saved instructions I had are quite old and won't work on my own system. I am sure I got System Restore to open from the command prompt before so I will experiment and get back to you.
     
  15. tker

    tker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    10

    64 bit.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - start
  1. zalan
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    1,174
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082433

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice