1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Pc won't boot

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by catoro, Oct 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. catoro

    catoro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I install two brand new memory sticks to my HP slimline pc win 7, but when hit the power botton it won't boot. The lights turns on and the fans spins, but it won't boot. Could it be the hard drive or the motherboard?
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,643
    Have you tried removing the new DIMMs? Does it beep at all when you try and power on the PC? Have you checked to ensure all the cabling is connected correctly? It's possible you may have knocked something inadvertently when you were installing the new DIMMs.
     
  3. catoro

    catoro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I did, but there was no beep at all, all the cables were checked.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,810
    First Name:
    Frank
    Which HP Slimline do you have?
    What is its model number(M/N) and product number(P/N) and serial number(S/N)?

    What are the capacity and speed of the new memory sticks(RAM)?
    What are the capacity and speed of the original memory sticks?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,643
    If you're not seeing anything at all on the screen and you're not receiving any POST errors, I doubt this issue is with the hard drive. Would it be possible to take a high-res picture of the motherboard and post it here? One of us may be able to spot something, although there's no guarantee.
     
  6. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,347
    Can you try your old memory? Maybe the new memory is not compatible.
     
  7. catoro

    catoro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    HP s5000 Series
    S/N 3CR0300RVJ
    P/N S5623w
     
  8. catoro

    catoro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I forgot to mention abs for that I apologize. When I install the memory sticks the pc works fine, the next day that's when it did not boot.
     
  9. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,643
    So, what happened between the day you upgraded the memory and the next day? Did you turn off the PC at all? Was it running all night and then you found it wasn't on when you came to check it?
     
  10. catoro

    catoro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    After I installed the memory and turn It on to check I turned it off, and turn it back on the next day in the afternoon.
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,810
    First Name:
    Frank
    You have a HP Pavilion Slimline s5623w Desktop PC(BT437AA).
    It was purchased new in December 2010 and came with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.

    It came with 3 GB(2 GB + 1 GB) of DDR2-800 RAM.
    It supports a maximum of 4 GB(2 GB + 2 GB) of RAM.
    It uses 240-pin, 1.8 volt, CL=6, unbuffered, non-ECC modules.

    You still have not described the new RAM modules you purchased and installed.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. catoro

    catoro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    20181007_124119.jpg Here is the new memory stick
     
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,810
    First Name:
    Frank
    Does that 2 GB DDR2-800(PC2-6400) module have any other label on it?

    According to that part number, there have been a number of complaints about it not working.

    When you removed the old module and replaced it with the new module, did you make sure it is fully inserted and locked in place?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. catoro

    catoro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I sure did and the add part is that after I installed them the pc work fine and I used it for a couple of minutes, turn it off. The next day when I turn it back on that's when it did not work.
     
  15. catoro

    catoro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    There are no other label on the memory sticks.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1217377

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice