PC wont boot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Randomname01

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
24
Greetings all. I am trying to finish up a computer build, and I have everything hooked up, but when I go to turn on the power, it wont boot. The fans look like they are trying to start up (they twitch, but do not spin) I rechecked all connections and they were secure.

After fiddling with it for a few minutes, I pulled out the CPU 12V power supply (4 pin) from the motherboard, and all the fans, as well as an 8800GTS powered up fine.

The fact that everything but the CPU powers up makes me think DoA chip. As mentioned earlier, though, the fans just jumping slightly makes me think a bad PSU. As always, it could simply be user error on my part.

One important thing to note - the AeroCool PSU is 20pin, the Mobo is 24 pin, so I had to buy an adapter for it. In other words - I made a newbie error.

Another note: The case is a Lian Li make with a pair of 120mm fans, and a pair of 80 mm fans. I disconnected all of those, and it still did not help.


The components are as follows:
AeroCool 620W PSU
Intel C2D E6400
2 Gig Patriot Ram
WD Caviar 320 gig HDD
TForce P965 Motherboard
EVGA 8800GTS 320

Any help on this problem would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
If the specs are correct that I see for the Aero Cool you don't have the connections correct.

What color wires are connected to the 4 pin +12v connector near the processor?
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
2
I am very interested in this because I have found the same problem when trying to repair a friends PC. It seems to be a similar problem under different circumstances.
ASUS P5P800 with a P4 and a 300W power supply. Has been in use for at least 9 months.
She described recent problems as regular "freezing" which got worse until now she cannot boot up.
Identical symptoms as you described. I suspect that in this case the power supply has been marginal casuing intermittent problems. I am guessing the CPU for the same reasons as you. ( I am guessing that regular crashes due to power failure can damage the CPU but I dont really know).
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Randomname01 said:
Greetings all. I am trying to finish up a computer build, and I have everything hooked up, but when I go to turn on the power, it wont boot. The fans look like they are trying to start up (they twitch, but do not spin) I rechecked all connections and they were secure.

After fiddling with it for a few minutes, I pulled out the CPU 12V power supply (4 pin) from the motherboard, and all the fans, as well as an 8800GTS powered up fine.

The fact that everything but the CPU powers up makes me think DoA chip. As mentioned earlier, though, the fans just jumping slightly makes me think a bad PSU. As always, it could simply be user error on my part.

One important thing to note - the AeroCool PSU is 20pin, the Mobo is 24 pin, so I had to buy an adapter for it. In other words - I made a newbie error.

Another note: The case is a Lian Li make with a pair of 120mm fans, and a pair of 80 mm fans. I disconnected all of those, and it still did not help.


The components are as follows:
AeroCool 620W PSU
Intel C2D E6400
2 Gig Patriot Ram
WD Caviar 320 gig HDD
TForce P965 Motherboard
EVGA 8800GTS 320

Any help on this problem would be appreciated.
I would buy a proper psu for that stuff you shouldnt use an adapter, what is a 620watt psu doing with just a 20pin atx anyway?
 

Randomname01

Thread Starter
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
24
The lack of manuals and whatnot confused me on the build. I had things hooked up incorrectly. Sorta what I get for not doing a few hours research. The PC works fine now. It slipped my mind to reply to this and mark it solved.

Thanks for all the help received.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
2
Same syptoms but different problem. I upgraded the PSU and it worked fine. Just strange that it worked for six months with only 13A on the 12V before the problem showed up.

Moral - Dont use a 300W power supply when you can buy an adequate 550W for $35.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Gary-111 said:
Same syptoms but different problem. I upgraded the PSU and it worked fine. Just strange that it worked for six months with only 13A on the 12V before the problem showed up.

Moral - Dont use a 300W power supply when you can buy an adequate 550W for $35.
not really, sure it worked but it was stressing the psu at its limits and over time, 6 mo. in your case, the psu fails, makes perfect sense to me.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top