Solved PC won't display to monitor after cpu upgrade

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Charalson1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
2
I recently bought a Ryzen 1600 to upgrade. I've installed it , and put everything together and when I powered on my PC, the lights turned on, the CPU fan, system fan and all of that. Everything seemed good but my PC wouldn't display anything at all to the monitor, I've switched ports and my monitor would wake but not display anything and would go back to sleep. I didn't hear any beeps while powering on. I have a MSI b350 bazooka motherboard, 1 stick of 8GB DDR4 RAM, an RX 580 as well, running Windows 10+. It was my first time attempting an upgrade so I am not experienced. Anything I did wrong?
 
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
762
According to this page:
http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-MSI/B350_TOMAHAWK.html
There is a difference in the required bios for the 1600 and the 1600x. there is also a 1600 pro version. In order to find out which bios you have you will probably have to put the old processor back in to check it. From that page it would appear that the version 10 is probably default from the factory since no earlier versions are listed there. If your sure you have the 1600 and not 1600x then there may be another issue.

This page also has downloads for the latest bios:
https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B350-TOMAHAWK
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,801
You didn't advise us the exact description of the original and replacement processors.

I agree with kenbook51 that a BIOS update was probably needed with the original processor in place BEFORE you installed the replacement processor.

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

Charalson1

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
2
You didn't advise us the exact description of the original and replacement processors.

I agree with kenbook51 that a BIOS update was probably needed with the original processor in place BEFORE you installed the replacement processor.

--------------------------------------------------------------
The original was a Ryzen 1400 but I have found my issue. I didn't seat the RAM all the way. It has since started working normally. I am happy it wasn't a bios issue. Thanks for the help. How can I delete this?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,801
I'm glad to hear you found out what the issue was and had an easy fix for it.

Threads aren't deleted. Just mark it as solved - which you already did.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
762
There are quite a few bios updates on that download page for your motherboard. I'm of the mind though, "if it ain't broke don't fix it" but that doesn't mean you wouldn't get a benefit from the latest bios. A failed bios update is no joke though, so if you choose to keep the one you have I would completely understand, they scare me every time.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top