PC won't turn on!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jazzt1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
4
Please help:

My PC has started to not turn on. Checked that nothing was loose inside, checked the fuse in the power cable, tried another power cable - nothing. Went on intermittently - not it went on bu there was no screen - monitor on standby.

What could be up? Need new processor? Graphics Card?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,053
Sounds more like the power supply has died. When you power on the computer, do the fans for the cpu, power supply come on? Are there any beeps from the computer after powering on?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
100
Sometimes...this can be caused by a cable put on backwards on the back of a hard drive. Other times, it can be that the motherboard is grounding onto the case somewhere.

Originally posted by jazzt1
Please help:

My PC has started to not turn on. Checked that nothing was loose inside, checked the fuse in the power cable, tried another power cable - nothing. Went on intermittently - not it went on bu there was no screen - monitor on standby.

What could be up? Need new processor? Graphics Card?
 

jazzt1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
4
I think you are right about the power supply; its the only reasonable explanation. There are no beeps from the computer - absolutely nothing - no noise, lights etc.

Would the power supply be easy enough to fit myself, or would I be better to get someone who knows more about it to fit a new one?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,053
Power supplies not too difficult to replace since no drivers or configuration is required. You must disassemble the computer to the point where you can remove the power supply. When installing the new one make sure it is set for the correct voltage [there is a switch on the back of the power supply]. If you are using an older AT type make sure the connections are put back on the same way i.e. black leads go together. The newer ATX type you cannot get them on backwards.
 

jazzt1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
4
Should I get a 300W power supply for my AMD Athlon 800MHz pc?
Or would a 250W be better?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
For the little price difference, why not go with the larger one?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top