PCI card Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

scrappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
7
Hi, first time at this
I'm trying to install a "FIRE WIRE & PCI CARD" so I can put my digital video's on my PC, but my PC will not recognize the card. I've been told I need "DIVERS" but I can not find them & do not no where too download them from.
The card & wire is from "Q-TEC" it had no Disc with it , I'm running windows 98SE. The computer was home build by a friend of a frond, can you help please?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Hi scrappy, Welcome to TSG !!
Can you give us the make and model of the card??
You are trying to install a firewire pci card??
What is the make and model of your camera??

 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome. Try putting it in another slot, with or without drivers, Windows should definitely 'see' new hardware.
 

scrappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
7
Hi, all the make & model of card is Q-TEC 510F, camera Panasonic NV-DS29B
If I put it in a different slot my computer doe's not boot up.
Too the others I've been trying now for four month I will not give up.
Thanks to you all
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
AcaCandy is right Windows98 onwards OS have the drivers for this card.

Have you tried taking out another card (say your soundcard or NIC) and putting the firewire in its place and try to boot up.
 

scrappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
7
Hi, thanks for that, I'll try it and let you no.
It could be a couple of day's.

thank's for now
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Any chance of testing that card in another computer????? It could be the card ;)
 

scrappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
7
Hi again, the card as been tried in another computer running windows xp & it work fine.
thanks any way.
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
I am betting that it is an IRQ issue, that is why I suggest taking out other cards and popping the Firewire in to see if it works and then popping the other cards back in one at a time.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Can you post your IRQ listing? Start, run, msinfo32 and ok, hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.

If you have nothing on the com ports you can disable those to free up IRQs.
 

scrappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
7
0 System timer
1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
5 Creative SB Live! series
5 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 Printer Port (LPT1)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 (free)
10 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
10 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
11 Xpert 99/Xpert 2000 (English)
12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
13 Numeric data processor
14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
14 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
15 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
Hi A Candy, this is my IRQs listing's
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
A) You should not need drivers for Firewire.
B) I have a PCI/Firewire card that works perfectly in one system, but locks another solid. Via chipsets can cause this.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
3 Communications Port (COM2)
4 Communications Port (COM1)

If nothing is connected to the serial ports there, disable them in the bios setup to give the card 2 more IRQs to choose from.
 

scrappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
7
Hi Aca Candy's
I no this may be stupid, how do you know if something is connected. If nothing is connected how do you disable them in bios & would it be ports com 1 & 2 that become IRQs
thanks for your help
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top