1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PCI card Problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by scrappy, Sep 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scrappy

    scrappy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, first time at this
    I'm trying to install a "FIRE WIRE & PCI CARD" so I can put my digital video's on my PC, but my PC will not recognize the card. I've been told I need "DIVERS" but I can not find them & do not no where too download them from.
    The card & wire is from "Q-TEC" it had no Disc with it , I'm running windows 98SE. The computer was home build by a friend of a frond, can you help please?
     
  2. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    Hi scrappy, Welcome to TSG !!
    Can you give us the make and model of the card??
    You are trying to install a firewire pci card??
    What is the make and model of your camera??

    [​IMG]
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome. Try putting it in another slot, with or without drivers, Windows should definitely 'see' new hardware.
     
  4. scrappy

    scrappy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, all the make & model of card is Q-TEC 510F, camera Panasonic NV-DS29B
    If I put it in a different slot my computer doe's not boot up.
    Too the others I've been trying now for four month I will not give up.
    Thanks to you all
     
  5. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    AcaCandy is right Windows98 onwards OS have the drivers for this card.

    Have you tried taking out another card (say your soundcard or NIC) and putting the firewire in its place and try to boot up.
     
  6. scrappy

    scrappy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, thanks for that, I'll try it and let you no.
    It could be a couple of day's.

    thank's for now
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Any chance of testing that card in another computer????? It could be the card ;)
     
  8. scrappy

    scrappy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Hi again, the card as been tried in another computer running windows xp & it work fine.
    thanks any way.
     
  9. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    I am betting that it is an IRQ issue, that is why I suggest taking out other cards and popping the Firewire in to see if it works and then popping the other cards back in one at a time.
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can you post your IRQ listing? Start, run, msinfo32 and ok, hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.

    If you have nothing on the com ports you can disable those to free up IRQs.
     
  11. scrappy

    scrappy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 Communications Port (COM2)
    4 Communications Port (COM1)
    5 Creative SB Live! series
    5 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 (free)
    10 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
    10 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
    11 Xpert 99/Xpert 2000 (English)
    12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
    Hi A Candy, this is my IRQs listing's
     
  12. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    A) You should not need drivers for Firewire.
    B) I have a PCI/Firewire card that works perfectly in one system, but locks another solid. Via chipsets can cause this.
     
  13. scrappy

    scrappy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Dave B, thank you for that I'm looking into it
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    3 Communications Port (COM2)
    4 Communications Port (COM1)

    If nothing is connected to the serial ports there, disable them in the bios setup to give the card 2 more IRQs to choose from.
     
  15. scrappy

    scrappy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Aca Candy's
    I no this may be stupid, how do you know if something is connected. If nothing is connected how do you disable them in bios & would it be ports com 1 & 2 that become IRQs
    thanks for your help
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167535

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice