1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PCI FireWire card not showing up. Need help!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wally2187, Jan 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wally2187

    wally2187 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    I just installed a new PCI 1394 FireWire card. I followed the instructions given with the card, and had no problems. After I turned on my computer I attempted to use the port and upload video. A program I was using said that there was no sign of a device attached.

    I looked at my device manager and saw that there was no sign of a PCI firwire card installed. After not seeing this I reviewed my installation steps and found nothing that I did out of place. Nor did I find that I forgot any steps.

    I have tried many different attempts to install the card via the "install new hardware" feature in the control pannel. But I found no luck there or anywhere else.

    Can someone please tell me how I can install the card or get it to show up??

    Thanks for your time,
    kurt
     
  2. Rache

    Rache Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,398
    If it's seated properly then have a nose round in bios to see if it's been disabled. I'm assuming your xp and have sp's installed?
     
  3. wally2187

    wally2187 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,891
    First Name:
    Rob
    Try putting the card into a different PCI slot.
     
  5. wally2187

    wally2187 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    I've already tried that
     
  6. Rache

    Rache Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,398
    Try uninstalling SP2, installing firewire card, then reinstall SP2.
     
  7. wally2187

    wally2187 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    that didnt work
     
  8. Rache

    Rache Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,398
    I haven't a clue then. See if there's a compatibility chart for your card as some firewire cards aren't good with AMD or Intel visa-versa.
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Could be time to try a different firewire card.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323880

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice