Pcie x16 graphics card in an x4 slot (Pcie 3.0)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GeorgeSm1th

Hi I am looking to build a thin mini itx motherboard pc with dedicated graphics for gaming and I could only find motherboards with a pcie 3.0 x4 slot. I found an x4 to x16 riser but I don't know if it works as I have not been able to find any examples of such a thing. I want to use a GTX 1050 TI with it. I would like to know if this is possible. I am new to PC hardware and am quite confused. if I can't run a 1050 TI can you please list some alternatives. Thank you

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
There is no way you are going to fit a GTX1050
Height 4.38
Length 5.7
Width 2 Slot

In a thin mini itx case
which if you are going to use a thin mini itx board to gain from the
6.7 inch x 6.7 inch ( 17 cm x 17 cm )
http://www.gigabyte.com/MicroSite/324/images/guide.html

you presumably are going to use the thin mini case
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/sil...puter-chassis-black-with-vertical-holder-vesa
and although one example the thin mini cases are all more or less the same

Dedicated graphic cards are IMHO not usually used in thin mini

With respect I suggest you go back to the base planning stage

crjdriver

In addition to the above, you need to understand that mini/micro boards are not designed nor intended for gaming. There is a LOT more to a gaming system than just installing a video card. To achieve a decent level of performance, all of the parts need to work together. Mini boards just do not have the heavy duty VRs [voltage regulators] heavy duty capacitors, extra northbridge cooling, etc that are needed for a gaming system.
Installing a gaming video card in a mini board is somewhat analogous to installing a high performance cam in an econobox car. It will run however it will never run well.

GeorgeSm1th