.pdf File- Readable with all but Adobe Reader?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

letchworth

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
880
I sent a guy a file that I downloaded from a publishing house-- and he said it was blank. I re-sent the file and the same thing happened.

I re-checked the file for a third time and it works great with Foxit Reader & PDF Xchange Viewer-- but I wondered what program he was using; so I tried Adobe Reader. Indeed, the file is not readable with Adobe Reader (version 8)

I will certainly have him download one of the working programs- but wondering what might be up (as I thought the idea of Foxit & PDF Xchange Viewers was compatiblity)?

Any thoughts would be appreciated
letchworth
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
8
ask the recipient which program he used to open it - was there an error message given - how did he know it was blank? Did he know what he was doing? Can he open any other pdf files on his pc? I wouldnt waste your time trying to discover what caused the problem... The recipient just needs to open the file so get him to reinstall adobe reader and be done with it!!!
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
8
whoops sorry!
ask the publishing house what software they used to create the file...
Also, send a copy back to the publishing house by email and see if they can open it. Maybe it was partly corrupted when you downloaded it.
 

letchworth

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
880
Thanks to all for your responses- I appreciate you taking the time.

Just for a bit more clarity- I can "open" the file with Adobe Reader- but the pages appear blank- I say, "Appear Blank" because what I see is white blank pages-- however, with the other programs I am able to read the pages clearly.

DaveBurnett- not sure how to look at the properties of it. I know that when I create a .pdf I can change some properties- but don't know how to see them from a file I received.

I will call the publisher on Monday to find out what program they used- but was hopeful to transmit the file to the individual for use tomorrow (I was able to drive it to his house- just hoped to save that time). However, I have not run across this problem before- it took me by surprise. I almost never use Adobe Reader- (use Foxit or pdf X-change Reader) but assumed if the other programs could open it, Adobe could.

Any suggestions appreciated
letchworth
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
I use Foxit - to see properties open th file.
Then go File/Properties.
Pay attention to the Fonts.
Also you will be able to see what was used to create it.
I imagine it would be similar in Adobe Reader.
 

letchworth

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
880
Thank you- didn't know it was so easy to tell so much:

Program: QuarkXPress(R) 7.5

Fonts:
BMKOXJ+HelveticaNeue-Medium Ext

CWEAHQ+Helvetica-Black

HGPWHF+Helvetica-Heavy Ext

HOQVQQ+HelveticaNeue-Bold Ext


I don't really know what it means--- but wondering if the problem is that I don't have those fonts?

Again, appreciate any suggestions
letchworth
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Possibly - but Foxit managed to substitute them successfully, so Adobe ought to???
 

letchworth

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
880
Even better (perhaps)-- I used Foxit to open the file-- Then "printed" it using PDFCreator-- The resulting file could be read in Adobe Reader- although the resulting file was about twice as large- probably because of the rendering engine in PDFCreator.

But- at least it works

The strange thing is that I have never noticed a problem because I use Foxit & pdf X-change Viewers (I'm sure that Adobe Reader has its uses-- but this is not one of them)

I will contact the publisher to see if others have had problems or their take on it. But thanks for your help & being a sounding board

letchworth
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top