peer-peer nightmare

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JayBrew

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
3
I am attempting to setup a p-p network of seven (7) machines. Four are running XP Pro, three are on XP Home.
One of the XP Pro machines will host a database that the others must access (read/write). This machine is called "server".
The network has grown incrementally over the years, therefore has 2 each 4-port hubs and an 8-port hub. There is also an internet gateway (router?) mixed into this mess.
After setting up the network, I find that I can see (from Server Network places) only 4 of the 7 machines on the net. I went to the machines that are not joining in, ran ip config, found those machines have a 169.x.x.x IP address. Tried to release/renew. Released but could not renew.
Server=XP Pro OK
PC1=XP Pro OK
PC2=XP Home OK
PC3=XP Pro OK
PC4=XP Pro No See
PC5=XP Home OK
PC6=XP Home No See

All machines are configured same. Failing connections are connected to different hubs. Per a suggestion I enabled netbios over tcp/ip. I disabled the firewall on all machines.
I am beginning to tear the little hair I have out!!!! Cables test good. Moving around among hubs makes no impact. If I shutdown all machines & reboot I sometime "see" different machines (ie PC1 down, PC4 OK)

Suggestions??

Jay
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
You may or may not yet be running into the limitations, but XP Home can only accept 5 connections and XP Pro 10, in a networking sense
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
7,235
169.254.X.X is Apipa and usually its what windows runs home to if it does NOT get an Ip.

I am assuming sincey ou don't mention where your getting the IP's from that it is in the router. Check your routers DHCP and see how many clients it can give DHCP and make sure you have it above the maximum number you currently have connected. then in the ones that are still getting 169.254.X.X start doing some testing and see are they connected to the same hub? are their any similarties?

My thought is 1 hub has gone bad and the ones not able to connect and getting the 169.254 are on the bad hub.

BTW if I were you I would replace any hubs with switches they are dirt cheap and are much more efficent network wise than hubs are.
 

JayBrew

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
3
kiwiguy said:
You may or may not yet be running into the limitations, but XP Home can only accept 5 connections and XP Pro 10, in a networking sense
Kiwiguy,
I thought of that. So bought XP Pro for the server. The remaining PCs must map to Server only. Server maps to none. I should have 4 unused connections. No?

Jay
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
7,235
Remember its per connection you can have 1 PC using more than 1 connection. You monitor this on the server side by going to start / run / type in - compmgmt.msc / Check computer management,system tools,shared folders,and sessions.
 

JayBrew

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
3
Stumped Terchy,
I moved the cables from hub to hub without impact. Checked compmgmt as you suggested. Showed 0 sessions.

Using router as DHCP server - says I am using 3 of 253 leases.

I like the idea of switches but the owner of the place will not spring for them.

Jay
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top