1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Peer to peer with 3 computers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by thomahan, Apr 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thomahan

    thomahan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Hello all. I've just added a new computer to my home network.
    First, Here's how the network is set up.

    Computer A: Running XP home, contains Alcatel speedtouch DSL PCI NIC, and an F5D5000 LAN card as well. Shares its internet connection with Computer B through XP ICS.

    Computer B: Runs Windows 98(not SE), contains F5D5000 LAN card for connection to computer A. Also contains a second LAN card for connection to Computer C.

    Computer C: Runs Windows 98(not SE) also, contains 1 NIC to connect to computer B.

    I have run the Network wizard on the XP CD on both client computers, all TCP/IP settings are set to use DHCP.

    The problem: Computer B sees both computers C, and A, and shares internet connection with computer A fine. However, computer A does not see computer C, and computer C does not see computer A, and cannot establish an internet connection.

    My questions: Can I correct this without buying a hub or router? Can I use static IP addresses on the 2 client computers to obtain the internet connection?

    Any ideas would be appreciated.

    If I have not provided enough information, let me know what you need.

    Thanks!
     
  2. PC_Wiz

    PC_Wiz

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,245
    What networking protocols are installed on

    Computer A
    Computer B
    Computer C

    What is the IP , Default gateway and DNS address of:
    Computer A
    Computer B
    Computer C

    In 98 winipcfg -> from run
    In XP, start/run/cmd -> at command prompt type ipconfig/all <enter>

    Is computer B able to access computer A? If not what happen.

    Are they using the same workgroup name?

    You can also
    - ping all the computers to see if there is connectivity.
    - Make sure to disable the firewall while testing.
     
  3. coulterp

    coulterp

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,625
    I think this is complicated by the fact that each of PCs A and B have two NICs. So 4 IP addrs (the IP addresses are associated with the NICs not the PCs). In the absence of a network bridge PC A cannot see PC C, and vice-versa, because there is no route from NIC 1 to NIC 2 in PC B.

    PC A has ICS enabled and so is all set up there. But PC B is going to have to have something like a network bridge created (see http://www.homenethelp.com/web/howto/windows-xp-bridge.asp, which although it shows an example of Win XP being used to bridge a wired to wireless scenario still describes basically the same situation).

    You could try the bridging as described in the article but by far the quickest and easiest solution will be a hub or switch (you wouldn't need a router). With the low cost of a basic hub or switch it seems the best solution too. Plus in order for PCs A and C to see each other PC B does not have to be switched on, which would obviously be the case in the bridged solution.

    I can't see any disadvantages to the hub/switch solution other than you would now have a redundant NIC in PC B.

    You wouldn't need to use static IPs - ICS (which acts as a DHCP server) would hand out IPs to all PCs reachable via the hub.
     
  4. thomahan

    thomahan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    I am running TCP/IP, and NETBEUI on the network.

    I think the problem is as coulterp described it.

    "there is no route from NIC 1 to NIC 2 in PC B"

    I need to set up a bridge on computer B.
    I was wondering if that was what I needed to do, and how to do it.
    I still may end up purchasing the switch, but I'll try the bridge solution first, just to have the knowledge of knowing how to do it.

    Thanks to both of you for the assistance.

    TM
     
  5. thomahan

    thomahan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Just to let you all know how I did solve this....
    Might answer someone elses questions later.

    I did pretty much what Coulterp said to do.
    Upgraded Computer B to Windows XP(actually, the upgrade didn't work on the FAT32 file system, the 'start' and taskbar weren't working at all, and were showing up only every other boot.) I reformatted the HD to NTFS and XP works great now. I backed up all the programs from my harddrive to Computer A before reformatting the hard drive.
    Once XP was installed, setting up the 'bridge' was pretty easy. XP does most of it for you automatically. XP detected my network connections, loaded drivers (not specific to the devices, but work great!!), then all I had to do was 'highlight' both network connections, and 'bridge' them.
    Computer A, B, and C can all see each other, share files, one printer, and an internet connection(runs faster than 98 ever did )on all 3 machines.
    I am also running a remote desktop server on Computer C so I can view and execute the programs on that computer from my keyboard and monitor on computer B.
    The server is vnc, and can be found easily with any search engine.
    Anyway, I hope this helps someone else.
    I sure appreciate the help I get here.

    Once again, many thanks.

    TM
     
  6. coulterp

    coulterp

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,625
    Glad to hear you got it sorted out. Good luck.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218288

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice