Pent4 Motherboard Install Problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jett_30032

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Messages
218
I am installing a Intel D845GRG into a 7121 Acer Aspire case. Everything fits OK until I try to turn it on and nothing happens. I got a front panel schematic from the intel site and followed it to the end but still no reaction. Can anyone give me any help on this one. I am still checking Intel sites and Acer sites for help. The support link on the Intel only generated automated responses. I have yet to here from a real intel tech. Below is a link to the schematics for the front panel connectors.

www.intel.com/design/motherbd/rg/rg_con.htm
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2000
Messages
1,005
Is this a tested case and Power Supply? Try reversing the leads of the front panel connectors.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2000
Messages
1,005
Hard to use a deeper voice while typing...sorry I jest...the connector for your power switch...pull it out, turn it over, plug it back in...make sure yoy have power switch turned off while doing this...also recheck all of your connections.
 

jett_30032

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Messages
218
lol:D

I have tried this and still nothing. I spoke with my older brother (System Implimentation) and he is going to check the circuit for me this weekend. But if I can find the problem before it will be so helpful.

I can feel the speed of the Pentium 4 now. HHMMMMM can you feel it? CAN YOU FEEL IT? Yeah, I thought you could.

Oh I'm sorry i got a little excited. that happens when you've been on a Pent2 for a while. anxiety builds up from anticipation.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
43
hate to see how it acts with a AMD xp
heh!














------------------------------------------------------
nobody is perfect... I'm nobody..... I must be perfect then..
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Originally posted by Chum:
Hard to use a deeper voice while typing...sorry I jest...the connector for your power switch...pull it out, turn it over, plug it back in...make sure yoy have power switch turned off while doing this...also recheck all of your connections.
Since the power switch for this MB is just a set of N/O contacts, what does this accomplish?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2000
Messages
1,005
Originally posted by johnwill:
Since the power switch for this MB is just a set of N/O contacts, what does this accomplish?
Your right...I was thinking of when the HDD Led does not work...my bad.
 

jett_30032

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Messages
218
This is from intel's automated response. the power switch on the case need to have a momentary contact time of 50 milliseconds or more to power up.

so I went out and got a new case and sure enough it started. YAAAAHOOOOOO!!!!!

close this thread
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top