pentium 4 question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

yomaddog

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
248
I'd like to find out if it's possible to upgrade my Pentium-3 to the new 4...

Presently I have: HP-Pavilion 866 MHZ
192 MB RAM
(very heavy into digital photography, computer slows with high resolution
pictures...have next to nothing in other running programs in background
...but do have hungry editing software)

Could I possibly gain more speed with more RAM ???

P.S.- I'm a competent do-it-yourselfer..
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
It's not possible to upgrade from a Pentium III to a Pentium 4. There are no motherboards that support this.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
To upgrade to a pentium four you would have to get a new motherboard and ram. Pentium 3 chipsets are not compatible with pentium 4 processor's

More ram may help with the photo work.
 

yomaddog

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
248
O.K.guys,...
Would it offer vast improvement? Would I be able to switch motherboards without much hassle, say a power supply or something? And what about cost?
(really appreciate the help,...)
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
the improvement depends on your current system. Is a pentium 4 faster than a pentium 3, yes, but a high end pentium 3 in my mind isn't worth trashing to go to a p4.

Minimum you would need

motherboard
power supply
RDRAM
chip
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Just to tell you (as I learned from experience) the MSI board for the P4 (and I'm assuming it is the same for all P4 boards) is very difficult to install, because you can't get all the screw stands to screw in correctly, and it is very frustrating. It is one of those things if they all aren't in, then none of them stay in... seems maybe the screws on the mobo don't perfectly match up with the positions on the mobo. (in which case I guess that might not happen to everybody) Also it will presently cost $450 minimum to upgrade to the entry level P4 system (minimum everything) and the performance increase over the PIII isn't worth that much. (I know you aren't looking at doing it anymore, but I just had to throw in my two cents. :))
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Cases aren't categorized as P4 cases, etc. They are specific to the type of motherboard being inserted into them. If you have an AT case obviously an ATX motherboard isn't going to fit in it. The MB's have a standard set of holes in them for the type of MB they are. Power supplys are now rated to be compatible with certain processors like AMD, etc.

Dog....your case should be fine the only expence would be a good motherboard, CPU, memory and I would suggest a good power suplpy also.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2001
Messages
11
The first Pentium 4 Motherboards would not fit very well into a normal case. Something about the larger heatsink changed the layout of some of the screws. However, most newer boards have worked around this problem. Unfortunately HP (and most other big names) use a nonstandard connector from the case to the motherboard. Instead of all connectors (power switch, reset, speaker) being seperate they arrange them all into one block coming from the case. This "block" doesn't usually line up with the pin out on the motherboard.
Best bet would be to just buy a good case with a p4 power supply (which is different from a P3 power supply). A good motherboard with either rdram or sdram. rdram would provide a little faster performance, but with sdram board you could reuse the memory.
We use aopen stuff which an end user could pick up at somewhere like myaopen.com. a p4 case would be around 60, with a motherboard around 130. The processor would range from around 150 to 300 or more. One of those deals where there would be some performance gain, but enough to justify the price, I don't know.
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
A Pentium 4 requires a specific type of power supply. Not all older cases can accommodate this.
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
deuce_mn, were you using a Pentium 4 approved case?
Yes... at least it should be. It is supposed to be for the MSI mobo I have, but who knows. It only took 30 or so min longer then it should, but I got it in ok so I'm not worring about it. However it is good to know so I don't tell other people that P4 mobos are difficult to install. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top