1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PERL help! Need help creating CGI form script.

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by sachit64, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sachit64

sachit64 Thread Starter

Alright, I'm totally new to PERL, yet my coop job at a hightech company requires me to make this one website page. I've never worked with scripts or buttons or anything on webpages, and I need help getting this started.

What I have to create is a page where employees can put their name, their ID number, and their department number.

There are fields the user fills out (Their name, their ID number, their department number ect..)

... and I need to add it into an TXT document with extra stuff.

So lets say those inputfields above are variables. I need it to show up like this in a txt document.

+name+"$"+departnumber+"$"To: "+name+ "("+idnum+")";

You know? Anyone willing to help?!?!?

-s64

2. Shadow2531

Shadow2531

I don't know how to write to a file in perl, but attached is an example of the form and the cgi script that takes the form varaibles and prints them out to the page.

In the loop you can change the print command to whatever command is need to print the variables to a file.

You might have to do some string replacement to replace any "+" with a space and something to delete trailing spaces.
    You could also use javascript in the form.html to validate the form and get rid of any trail spaces and chekc that the deptnumber and ID number is valid.

The attached example should get you started.

Attached Files:

3. Shadow2531

Shadow2531

Attached is a new submit.cgi that creates a file called submit.txt. Each time info is submitted to it, it appends the info to the file.