1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

perl self-executable

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by gamemaster_bm2, Oct 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gamemaster_bm2

gamemaster_bm2 Thread Starter

i just started learning to use perl, and i cant seem to get my programs to execute without invoking perl to compile it
    i tried everything in the man pages, and cant seem to figure it out
    its proabably some little thing im overlooking, but help would be appreciated
    Running Mandrake-Linux 8

2. codejockey

codejockey

A couple of thoughts:

(1) have you make sure that the perl program is executable? Typically, you would use a command such as chmod 755 perl-program-name or chmod a+x perl-program-name to set the execute bit for all users. If you type ls -l perl-program-name and see something such as rw-rw-rw (i.e., without an x in any position), then the chmod command should do the trick. Note that you must be the owner of the script or root in order to modify the permissions.

(2) have you verified that the first line in your script is something like: #! /usr/bin/perl? This directs the shell to use /usr/bin/perl as the interpreter for the script (note that your path to perl may be different). Without this line, you may receive syntax errors and various other complaints, forcing you to invoke the script as perl perl-program-name.

My guess is that the first option is the more likely.

Hope this helps.

3. gamemaster_bm2

im pretty sure its my chmod statement, but i cant figure out why it doesnt turn on the execute bit...
    ive tried chmod +x filename, chmod a+x filename, any others?

4. codejockey

codejockey