Permissions and Temp Folder in Vista

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rexdaking

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1
Can somebody please tell me why i keep getting this message:

"C:\Windows\TEMP could not be saved, because you cannot change the contents of that folder.

Change the folder properties and try again, or try saving in a different location."

That keeps coming up when I try to download. I am not sure what to do.

Can someone please assist?


:(:(:(:(:(
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
446
In an elevated command prompt type:

icacls c:\windows\temp

Paste the results back here.

Note to get an elevated command prompt in the Start search box type

cmd

then right click on cmd.exe in the list above and pick Run as administrator.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
6
ok.. well I couldn't find cmd.exe but did find the cmdline. It had a flashing cursor for me to enter the prompt but nothing would type. Instead a pop up came up stating "BuildWC has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."

I appreciate any help.
Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
446
Look for the command prompt here

All Programs => Accessories

Right click on it then pick Run as administrator
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
6
c:\windows\temp NT SERVICE\TrustedInstaller:<I><F>
NT SERVICE\TrustedInstaller:<I><CI><IO><F>
NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:<I><F>
NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:<I><OI><CI><IO><F>
BUILTIN\Administrators:<I><F>
BUILTIN\Administrators:<I><OI><CI><IO><F>
BUILTIN\Users:<I><RX>
BUILTIN\Users:<I><OI><CI><IO><GR,GE>
CREATOR OWNER:<I><OI><CI><IO><F>

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
6
Nope...as far as I know I haven't changed anything. All I know is that it was working fine and then all of a sudden it wasn't. I have virus protection and cannot figure out what could have happened. Someone suggested that I do a "clean" with a program when I first encountered this prob and I did that. But still same problem.

I have minimal experience with computer problems.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
446
Given the permissions that showed from the icacls command turning UAC off probably won't help. We have to figure out how the permissions got changed, then stop it from happening again, then reset them to the defaults. I'll play around with this later today. I have to do it in a virtual machine so I don't mess up the permissions on any of my real machines.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
6
The UAC was already off... Thanks so much for your help guys. I appreciate it. Would adding extra RAM screw up things. It seemed to happen when I had someone place more memory on my laptop.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
446
At an elevated command prompt type:

icacls c:\windows\temp /grant:r BUILTIN\Users:(CI)(S,WD,AD,X)

Reboot then see if the problem is fixed.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
446
You're welcome.

There are still some other permissions that aren't right on the folder. Something changed the default permissions. If that folder was changed what else was changed? You may have other problems in the future.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top