1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Permissions and Temp Folder in Vista

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by rexdaking, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rexdaking

    rexdaking Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Can somebody please tell me why i keep getting this message:

    "C:\Windows\TEMP could not be saved, because you cannot change the contents of that folder.

    Change the folder properties and try again, or try saving in a different location."

    That keeps coming up when I try to download. I am not sure what to do.

    Can someone please assist?


    :(:(:(:(:(
     
  2. nitngale1975

    nitngale1975

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I have the same problem. Have you by any chance figured out how to fix it?
     
  3. TechB

    TechB

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    In an elevated command prompt type:

    icacls c:\windows\temp

    Paste the results back here.

    Note to get an elevated command prompt in the Start search box type

    cmd

    then right click on cmd.exe in the list above and pick Run as administrator.
     
  4. nitngale1975

    nitngale1975

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    ok.. well I couldn't find cmd.exe but did find the cmdline. It had a flashing cursor for me to enter the prompt but nothing would type. Instead a pop up came up stating "BuildWC has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."

    I appreciate any help.
    Thanks
     
  5. TechB

    TechB

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Look for the command prompt here

    All Programs => Accessories

    Right click on it then pick Run as administrator
     
  6. nitngale1975

    nitngale1975

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    c:\windows\temp NT SERVICE\TrustedInstaller:<I><F>
    NT SERVICE\TrustedInstaller:<I><CI><IO><F>
    NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:<I><F>
    NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:<I><OI><CI><IO><F>
    BUILTIN\Administrators:<I><F>
    BUILTIN\Administrators:<I><OI><CI><IO><F>
    BUILTIN\Users:<I><RX>
    BUILTIN\Users:<I><OI><CI><IO><GR,GE>
    CREATOR OWNER:<I><OI><CI><IO><F>

    Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files
     
  7. TechB

    TechB

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    The permissions look messed up. Have you changed them?
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    If you disable User Access Controls, you can create folders where you want.
     
  9. nitngale1975

    nitngale1975

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Nope...as far as I know I haven't changed anything. All I know is that it was working fine and then all of a sudden it wasn't. I have virus protection and cannot figure out what could have happened. Someone suggested that I do a "clean" with a program when I first encountered this prob and I did that. But still same problem.

    I have minimal experience with computer problems.
     
  10. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    What happened when you disabled UAC?
     
  11. TechB

    TechB

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Given the permissions that showed from the icacls command turning UAC off probably won't help. We have to figure out how the permissions got changed, then stop it from happening again, then reset them to the defaults. I'll play around with this later today. I have to do it in a virtual machine so I don't mess up the permissions on any of my real machines.
     
  12. nitngale1975

    nitngale1975

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    The UAC was already off... Thanks so much for your help guys. I appreciate it. Would adding extra RAM screw up things. It seemed to happen when I had someone place more memory on my laptop.
     
  13. TechB

    TechB

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    At an elevated command prompt type:

    icacls c:\windows\temp /grant:r BUILTIN\Users:(CI)(S,WD,AD,X)

    Reboot then see if the problem is fixed.
     
  14. nitngale1975

    nitngale1975

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    It worked!!!!! Thanks so much!!! You are awesome !!!!
     
  15. TechB

    TechB

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    You're welcome.

    There are still some other permissions that aren't right on the folder. Something changed the default permissions. If that folder was changed what else was changed? You may have other problems in the future.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756418

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice