1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Pesky Video Problem Nvidia 6200 agp Scrolling problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kapustin Yar, Jan 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    I have a Nvidia Geforce 6200 8x AGP. 512mb of RAM. Whenever I scroll down I get a flutter in my screen, like I'm going too fast for it.

    I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling my video card several times and even switching it out and still the same result. I've checked the device manager and found a yellow x next to next to Nividia Geforce 6200.

    What do i do?
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Check and make sure you have installed the motherboard
    drivers so the agpgart driver is loaded.
    I had a problem with the nvidia driver on my 6600.
    The driver won't load properly unless the agp aperature
    setting in the bios is set to 64MB or above.
    Might try that.
     
  3. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    No sorry, I installed the gart drives from the original disk. I still have problems. One thing that is interesting is that when I do reinstall sometimes I get an error message that a particular driver can't be installed because another driver is there. Maybe I'm having a debris file problem?
     
  4. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Here are some of the error messages. I seem to be having a lot of problems during the process with some files not being installed or uninstalled.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    I even downgraded to a FX 5200 with 128mb of RAM and I'm still having the same problem.
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Uninstall all nvidia graphics software from add/remove programs
    in control panel.
    Restart the computer.
    Then right click my computer and click properties.
    Click device manager.
    Right click the video card and click update driver.
    You will want to manually select a driver.
    I'm not running xp right now so you'll need to look for the driver.
    The driver you want to install from the list is the
    standard vga adapter.
    After that is installed,restart the computer and run the
    driver install again.
    You might want to put the 6200 back in first,so you don't have to
    go through all this again.
     
  7. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Hi Leroy

    Thanks very much for your help?

    Where do I find the driver for the Standard VGA adapter?

    on my video card CD?
    In the listing called C:\nvidia or

    in C:\ Program Files\Nvidia?

    Again, many thanks!
     
  8. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Hi Leroy,

    I know what you mean now. You want me to uninstall my video card driver and then reinstall my monitor driver, then reinstall my video card, correct?

    Anyway, I had to go online to find the vga driver. I've downloaded it and I'm waiting for a more propitious moment to get involved with this project again. Its not easy uninstalling and reinstalling video cards time after time after time after time. This'll be like the 5th time I've done this. I'll let you know how it goes,

    Kappy
     
  9. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    The standard vga driver should be listed in the
    driver list when you click update driver.
    It may say browse my computer for drivers.
    Click that then click select from a list.
    You want to install the basic driver to avoid conflicts.
    Select standard vga adapter frrom the list and install it,
    then restart the computer.
     
  10. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    When I uninstalled the Nvidia drivers and installed the 6200 video card I came back to the desktop. Then the Nvidia popup asked me if I wanted to install new software. I said no.

    Then I went into the device manager and clicked UPDATE driver under a yellow “other device” because there was nothing for display adapter or for Nvidia.


    Then it looked for a vga driver by itself. It was hidden and it was tricky to find but I found the List you were talking about. Now it appears to be working fine.



    However I’ve done this before and sometimes it goes out after 15 minutes and sometimes it goes out after I reboot or boot into win98 (my C drive) XP is my default boot and 98 is my backup drive.

    If it goes out again I’ll let you know. I still don’t know how to duplicate this procedure in 98. Any ideas?



    Its defintely a VGA problem and not a video card problem. Does that mean my monitor is going out? Its an old CRT Gateway 2000 VS1100. The color is fine and I don't have any problems with it.
     
  11. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Hi Leroy,

    I rebooted my pc. When it came back up to the desktop, it showed the desktop for a few seconds and then I got a screen with a whole page of writing on it.

    Basically it said Windows protection error. There was no way to take a screenshot or write down what it said.

    Then I rebooted again and came back to the desktop and I have the same problem back again.

    What do I do?
     
  12. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    You may want to check the archives at nvidia.com
    and see if there is an olde driver version you can use
    if you are using the newer one.
    Also,like I stated earlier,make sure the agp aperature setting
    in the BIOS setup is set ot a least 64MB.
     
  13. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Hi Leroy,

    Thanks again for all you help. I can't change the aperture size because the motherboard I'm using doesn't have a place for it. There are no aperture settings in the bios. I remember an older motherboard I used to use had one but not this one.

    I will check the nvidia archives for an older driver for the 6200.
     
  14. Kapustin Yar

    Kapustin Yar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Hi leroy,

    I checked for an older driver and realized that the driver I was using WAS an older driver. It came off the disk that the card came with.

    So I went onto the Nvidia website and upgraded it. When I did this it rebooted and now I'm back in the same situation I was in.
     
  15. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    I don't think I have seen a motherboard with an agp
    slot that does not have some sort of agp aperature setting.
    Is there a shared memory setting in the bios?
    What is the motherboard model?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/893222

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice