1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Phantom Network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by DrAwesome, Oct 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DrAwesome

    DrAwesome Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,

    I am having some trouble with my network. Upon booting my computer (running windows XP home, sp2) I am getting the old "network connected with limited connectivity" message. Usually a simple restart of either my pc or router will fix this. I have restarted both a few times and occasionally it says it has connected, yet I am still unable to browse web pages etc.

    When doing an ipconfig /all (posted below) I notice that my ip and default gateway match and are random compared to the other two computers connected to the same router. My understanding is that the gateway should be the ip of my router? in this case 192.168.1.2.

    I have tried assigning a static ip and setting the default gateway to 192.168.1.2 which tells me I'm connected. But I'm still unable to browse, connect to skype, MSN etc.

    Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.



    C:\Documents and Settings\OEM>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DROARSOME
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D4-FE-F2-FC
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.51.136
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.51.136

    C:\Documents and Settings\OEM>
     
  2. amaru96

    amaru96

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Hi, a 169.x.x.x address usually indicates no connection. It's a Windows auto assigned IP address.

    You may have a faulty network card or the TCP/IP stack has become corrupt.

    When you specified your IP address were you able to ping yourself or the router (192.168.1.2)?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  4. DrAwesome

    DrAwesome Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for your help so far, I reset WINSOCK and TCP/IP logs and nothing has changed.

    Also, when I specified my own IP I am able to ping myself but not my router.

    Would something like a reinstall of XP fix a faulty card or is that a hardware based problem?
     
  5. amaru96

    amaru96

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Is the network card built into the motherboard or a seperate card?

    You can also try updating & reinstalling the drivers.

    Or you could try installing a new network card - they are pretty cheap now.

    Have you tried using a different cable?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    This could well be a hardware issue with the NIC.
     
  7. DrAwesome

    DrAwesome Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Have tried with many different cables and even through a hub.

    It's a built in network card. I'll update/reinstall drivers tonight and let you know.

    Thanks.
     
  8. DrAwesome

    DrAwesome Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Have just tried reinstalling drivers and get a "can not find proper NIC, click OK to exit program." error.

    Sounds like you guys were right, does this mean I need a new network card?
     
  9. amaru96

    amaru96

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    If you are using the correct drivers for the NIC then I would say it's probably dead.

    Go out and buy a new one. Should be able to pick one up for less than $20. Make sure you get a reputable brand (Netgear, D-Link...)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/645791

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice