1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PHOTOSHOP CS2 .. SCRATCH DiSKS ?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by LiLSBEBAWLiN, Jul 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LiLSBEBAWLiN

    LiLSBEBAWLiN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    this is a brand new computer and whenever i try to do something in the program it wont let me its telling me that my scratch disks are full..? help .. thanks !
     
  2. saltydawgs

    saltydawgs Account Closed

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    please provide your computer specs
    i think that'd be a good start
     
  3. LiLSBEBAWLiN

    LiLSBEBAWLiN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    im sorry i dont understand what you are asking me..
     
  4. saltydawgs

    saltydawgs Account Closed

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    ok, do you know the version of your windows (are you running windows?)
    the speed of your processor + the amount of RAM?

    you can find all of this information by clicking start, go to 'run' and type in dxdiag
    then hit enter, and it should show you everything about your computer
     
  5. LiLSBEBAWLiN

    LiLSBEBAWLiN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    windows xp professional 5.1 build 2600 and 160mb ram
     
  6. saltydawgs

    saltydawgs Account Closed

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    RAM has to be the problem you are having
    unfortunately adobe photoshop CS2 requires:

    # 320MB of RAM (384MB recommended)

    and you stated you only have 160 mb.

    i was looking at the adobe website, and i searched for scratch disk is full, and it came up with solutions having to deal with memory (which is RAM), so im almost certain thats whats causing the problem
     
  7. LiLSBEBAWLiN

    LiLSBEBAWLiN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    im really confused because we have two hardrives in this computer one from the old one and now this new one.. that was the whole point so we had more room..
     
  8. saltydawgs

    saltydawgs Account Closed

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    you might have enough room but not enough RAM (remote access memory)
    it might seem confusing, but theres a difference between a hard-drive and RAM
     
  9. LiLSBEBAWLiN

    LiLSBEBAWLiN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    so what can i do ?
     
  10. saltydawgs

    saltydawgs Account Closed

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    in most cases, you would most likely have to purchase more RAM for your computer
    but lets try something first...

    immediatly after you open up adobe photoshop hold down the keys: ctrl + alt
    it should open up a memory prefrences box, where you can change your scratch disk

    i got this info from http://www.adobe.com/products/adobemag/archive/pdfs/98smqaph.pdf
    if you want to check it out
     
  11. LiLSBEBAWLiN

    LiLSBEBAWLiN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    ok so what am i changing it to ?
     
  12. LiLSBEBAWLiN

    LiLSBEBAWLiN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    nothing came up when i pressed ctrl+ALt..
     
  13. saltydawgs

    saltydawgs Account Closed

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    try the adobe website

    adobe.com

    and search for the scratch disk is full error
    when i did that i got a bunch of answers on how to fix it

    i hope that helps
     
  14. lister

    lister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,993
    160 mb of RAM, Random Access Memory, is really too little to run Photoshop CS2, no matter how you tweak it.

    The only real solution is to buy more RAM, or use a less powerful image editor.
     
  15. wilson44512

    wilson44512

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,450
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - PHOTOSHOP SCRATCH DiSKS
  1. capescafe
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    467
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/482051

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice