1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Photoshop CS5 Open GL disabled... strange

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Matts3D, Nov 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Hi,
    I use to have OpenGL enabled in Photoshop forever.
    Since 2 months, OpenGL is disabled and grayed out telling me that graphic accelearation in unabled, etc... and I tried everything to fix it.
    Update Card driver, reset Photoshop preferences, delete Photoshop folders in my User's Folders etc...

    The only way I can make it work, is by resetting the workspace to its default settings.
    I quit Photoshop, restart it, now OpenGl is enabled.

    If I move a tool window, let's say the Swatches pallet, OpenGL still works.
    If I quit Photoshop, restart it, OpenGL is now unabled.

    I work with to monitors and I normally put all my tools on my second monitor.

    I'va tried everything that I could, but it's not working.

    Anyone can help me with this?

    Thank you!
     
  2. pip22

    pip22

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,536
    Using two monitors could have something to do with it.
    As a test, run just one monitor for a while and see if you still get the same problem.
     
  3. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    I've unplugged a monitor, restarted PS, OpenGL was back on.
    Moved a pallet, restarted PS, OpenGL disable...
     
  4. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Try uninstalling the latest plug-ins. One of your plugins might be incompatible with the GL layer, so Photoshop disables it while it's running.

    Just a WAG, but worth a try.

    Also, try turning off or down your video "acceleration" , just for troubleshooting purposes.

    I have also had trouble with the later Wacom drivers. The most stable version, for Intuos tablets. is 4.77.

    YMMV
     
  5. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    I have no plugins installed, but I have a Wacom tablet.
    Thing is, 2 of my colleagues have exactly the same computer and softwares, but don't have any problems.
    I have another colleague on another floor that has the same problem as me with different computer and softwares...
    But he has a Wacom tablet... I'll try some tests with that i guess.
     
  6. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    If you need the v 4.77 drivers, let me know. I can zip it up for you.
     
  7. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Before trying to roll back the drivers/software, you must first go into add/remove programs, and uninstall. Make sure the USB cable to the tablet is unplugged. Then, you must restart Windows, go into device manager, and remove the device, if it still shows up. Then, restart Windows again, and install your chosen version. Then, plug the tablet back in, and Windows will detect it.

    I know, it's a PITA. But the newer Wacom drivers are buggy, and have been known to cause problems.
     
  8. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    I am assuming you are using an Intuos tablet...
    if it's a Graphire, then you're on your own.
     
  9. gyrgrls

    gyrgrls Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Before you do anything, I want you to unplug your tablet, and fire up Photoshop, and see if OpenGL is still disabled. Before you go through the whole rigamarole of reinstalling the drivers.
     
  10. Peano

    Peano Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Also (separate from that test) try dragging the Preferences file out on the desktop and so Photoshop can build a new one when it launches. If that doesn't solve the problem, you can put the old Prefs back in to restore your settings.
     
  11. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Yes please I could give it a try for the drivers (I have Intuos 4)
     
  12. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Minor update:
    If I run PS in 32 bit, there is nothing I can do to have OpenGl turned on.
    In 64 bit, when I reset the workspace then restart PS, OpenGl is enabled until I move a pallet.

    I unplugged the Wacom tablet, still no go.

    History:
    4-5 months ago, I had another computer with the same problem, but for some reason, one morning, OpenGl was back on, it was magically fixed.
    I now have a brand new computer (since 3 months) with a freshly installed Creative suite CS5. The OpenGL problem came back to haunt me.

    If you read my first post, that's what I did.
    I deleted everything in the AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS5.1
    Unless there is another path?
     
  13. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Major update:
    I finally fixed the problem.
    After unplugging the Wacom, nothing was working.
    I uninstalled all Wacom drivers I could find.
    Rebooted the computer and it finally worked.
    I will be waiting for the 4.77 drivers and give it a go!

    Thanks to all.

    I will keep you informed after I get the driver.
     
  14. Peano

    Peano Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Sorry, I read it but a bit too quickly. I missed that part. Thanks.
     
  15. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Can you provide me the drivers please?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025894

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice