1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Photoshop Elements Runs Slow

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Mike Circuit, Nov 18, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mike Circuit

    Mike Circuit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    When I use Photoshop elements 13.1 on my Laptop. It starts off running fine but often when I close my laptop and come back to it later - it starts running VERY slow. Even to rotate an image which is normally instantaneous - means a progress bar appearing on screen. It will take about 8 seconds to do this simple action.

    I looked at the performance tab and it says 3174 MB free total and I let it use 2888 MB (My laptop has a total of 8GB but i guess Windows must reserve some of that)

    My harddisk currently has 50GB free and photoshop is set to use that as scratch disk.

    Does anyone know why this happens?

    Thank you for any help
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,247
    First Name:
    David
    Are you leaving Photoshop open when you "close the laptop"?

    When was the last time you shut down this system and the restarted?
    By shut down, I do not mean by closing the lid.
     
  3. Mike Circuit

    Mike Circuit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Yes I always leave everything (including photshop) open. It doesn't always go slow but a lot of the time it does.

    I should say when I close the laptop - it hibernates.

    I noticed yesterday - after photoshop went slow that if I closed photoshop and restarted it - and it seemed fine again. Not sure if this will work every time. But if it does, it's still annoying to have to do this
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,247
    First Name:
    David
    When you close the lid, the data that is in memory must be write to a temp file on the hard drive. Then when lid is opened this same data must be rewritten to memory.

    You will find that if your were to Close all programs and then power down, things will run much better.

    Yes, it just may take longer to power up, but the copying from the temp file to hard drive is not needed.
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,952
    First Name:
    Jay
    I'm assuming you have a 5400rpm HDD in your laptop.

    The best thing you can do to reduce Photoshop load time ....
    Is to install a SSD

    I can select a 5MB picture and open it in Photoshop CS6 in about 3 seconds
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2019
  6. Mike Circuit

    Mike Circuit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Thanks for the help. The issue - is that I've had this laptop and Photoshop for 5 years and it always ran fine until about a year ago. So it's not the specfication of the hardware that is the problem
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,952
    First Name:
    Jay
    Then I’d suggest shutting Photoshop down then the computer for a break ....
    A reboot fixes many things that could be going wrong.

    If that's not acceptable ....
    The first thing I’d try is reloading Photoshop.
    The next thing would be to reload Windows.

    Everything always runs better when I reload windows.
     
  8. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,247
    First Name:
    David
    And about a year ago you could have gotten an update that changes things to point of it slowing down.
     
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,952
    First Name:
    Jay
    ??? 5 years ??? ....
    The first thing I do when reloading Windows with a 5yr old HDD ....
    or even when I get a new laptop, is to replace the HDD with a good HDD 7200rpm and a 5yr Warranty ... Like one of these.
    My Last new (refurbished) Laptop got a SSD ... Then I keep the original for a windows backup
    A SSD can be worth a few more $$$.

    One reason a HDD can have difficulty in reading is Plater wobble.
    The WD back series HDD has better Platter supports .. thus the extended warranty.
    A SSD doesn't have any mechanical wear handicaps.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235844

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice