1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Photoshop" type program recommendation for Mac OS

Discussion in 'Apple Mac' started by soonergirl99, Apr 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. soonergirl99

soonergirl99 Thread Starter

I need to purchase a "Photoshop" type program for my Mac Mini desktop O.S. 10.6.3. My husband and I are starting a new business and I need a program to use to create our company literature/brochures. I've never used any type of program like this before but I'm a fast learner. Does anyone have any recommendations for this type of program?

Thanks!

Gina in Texas

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
  3. soonergirl99

soonergirl99 Thread Starter

I'm attempting to do some research on this subject and can't find the info I'm looking for. How does Paint Shop compare to Photoshop? One review of Photoshop Elements for Mac I read on Amazon said:

"Elements 8 cannot do kerning or text spacing. There are minimal effects you can do by work-arounds,,,but very poor results.
    Considering all the work I could do with the old Paint Shop Pro 7 - which included kerning, text sizing/spacing ,,,this is a real shame.
    Elements 8 for Mac is basically a bag of amateur tricks and nothing very serious."

I'm new to this so I'm not sure what kerning is or what it does. Thoughts and/or comments about this review would be appreciated.

4. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    Kerning http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kerning

Photoshop Elements "PSE" is a cut down version of photoshop aimed at the photographic market, I have use a very old version called LE and also have PSE version 6, I tend to use the PSE version on my laptop, rather than Photoshop now.