1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

php boards i need help please

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by casper03, Dec 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. casper03

    casper03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    272
    i have downloaded the latest php board ver 4.11 if i
    remember correctly.
    i have uploaded all the files to the bravepages server.

    i was told tol that these boards are all pre built with the
    option to change some things when you upload them.

    my question is now that i have uploaded the files
    what else must i do ? as whenever i try to go to my startpage it
    keeps asking me for my index.html.

    i know this my start page, but thought that this was already in the files uploaded to the server.

    can you explain where im going wrong here ... in laymans terms
    if thats possible as i have never tried to upload anything like
    this before and im at my wits end after three days of banging
    my head of the desk lol...

    any help would be most welcomed.
    will i still have to write the html for the pages or does
    that come with the download. ?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Pre-built doesn't mean that you don't have to do any configuration....geeze!! What's the URL to the site you uploaded them to and what is your hosts address? Are you sure they even support PHP on their servers?
     
  3. casper03

    casper03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    272
    hey we all start somewhere mate !

    if you didnt have the time you just had to say so
    after all i was the one asking the favour
    and you would have been the one doing it..

    dosent matter now ive decided to use the the servers own pre built boards....

    and yes they did support php!

    thanks for taking the time to reply anyway
    i appreciate it
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    I was just being fecitious....I give everyone a hard time...LOL. Who is the host anyways.....The home page is probably something other than index html for the PHP board and you need to set it accordingly in your server setup.
     
  5. casper03

    casper03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    272
    www.bravepages.com

    but i got sick of trying to figure it out and deleted all the files anyway Lol
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63496

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice