PHP form, not receiving email, SMTP authentication issue ??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rich1972

Dear all,

I am trying to create a form which sends the info to my email. Before I begin to create the form, I have tried to practice on a simple feedback form first.

I have created the HTML page with the simple feedback form (using dreamweaver CS6), and have created a php page, and entered the code (from an adobe textbook – as I am quite new to all this).

Once ‘Submit’ is selected on the html page, the php page appears with the message (from the php page) about ‘thank you for your feedback etc’ appears, so I know the html is linking to the php page.

However, I never get the email.

I have tried so many times to modify the code but it never works.

I am pretty sure I am missing something quite simple (like i said, I am quite new to website design).

I already have a web host company and a domain name, so I am effectively testing this in a live environment (as couldn’t figure out how to set up a test server).

I have asked my web hosting company for advice on whether they support PHP, and they have stated:

“We do support this, but you would need to configure your script to use SMTP authentication to connect to your mailbox, and send the email rather than sending it directly from the web server.
We are a hosting company, not a web development company. So I am afraid all coding and scripting is fully out of remit of support. I do know that you would need to script a form so that it sends through the mail server using SMTP”

I don’t really understand what this means ? Configuring script to use smtp authentication ? Any ideas ?

I have also read that I need to use WAMP (or something similar) so I have downloaded that but have not real clue how to use it (or even if I need to).

I have enclosed the code here :