1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PHP site editing help

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by juneaid, Jan 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. juneaid

juneaid Thread Starter

Hello,

I am a newbie for PHP. I have just started using a ecommerce shopping cart software written with php. However, I need to edit some parts such as language. I will translate it manually. I know that most of the wording have been recalled from .sql files to .php files. What I have to do is finding the words in which file located, and replacing them into my language. The problem is although I am searching all the files of the site via FileLocator for a specific word I required, there are only a few outcomes, mostly inside .sql files as expected. But when I replace the that words and upload the site again to the webserver, nothing is changed.

Is there any one that can help my problem? What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

2. ehymel

ehymel

The fact that you are metioning .sql files suggests that the text you are looking for may be contained in a database, not in the .sql or .php files themselves. Perhaps you could post a portion of a .sql file that you are wanting to change and we can see if that is the problem.

3. juneaid

juneaid Thread Starter

Thanks for your response ehymel,

Here is a part of the .sql file;

INSERT INTO xcart_languages VALUES ('en','lbl_cart_content','Cart content','Labels');
    INSERT INTO xcart_languages VALUES ('en','lbl_cart_is_empty','Cart is empty','Labels');
    INSERT INTO xcart_languages VALUES ('en','lbl_cart_items','Items','Labels');
    INSERT INTO xcart_languages VALUES ('en','lbl_cart_total','Total','Labels');