Physical Memory Usuage HIGH

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Marshallsw

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
4
Hello,
I have a bit of a problem.. It's causing my laptop to run extremely slow..
I've narrowed it down to svchost.exe ... in my task manager there are like 7 or 8 of them. one or two of them are using up 40-50mb of physical memory... What do I do?
My CPU usuage stays pretty low but my phsyical memory usuage stays around 70%-90% at all times.
Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks,

Marshall
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
You could post your HijackThis log and see if anything shows up


Download HijackThis to your desktop
  • Double click on HJTSetup.exe on your Desktop
  • Click Run and Install
  • It will install to Program files by default
  • it will launch Hijack This
  • Click on "scan system and save a logfile" usually in notepad
  • Copy and Paste the logfile in your next post
  • Using Ctrl+A to copy All and Ctrl+C to copy and Ctrl+V to paste.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,300
Post a HijackThis log here, as requested.

----------------------------------------------------------------

How much RAM does your computer have?

What's its brand name, model name, model number?

----------------------------------------------------------------

Multiple svchost.exe entries in the Windows Task Manager is normal.

My Vista desktop has 10 of them.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

Marshallsw

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
4
Hey,
My laptop is a Dell Inspirion 1501. It's OS = Windows Vista Home Basic, it has 512mb RAM, it has a 1.80ghz processor. I realise the specs aren't all that great but I KNOW that it can run better than this. I've already read up on a few threads prior to posting this and discovered the Ausdefrag and CCleaner, I've used both. I also have downloaded and ran Spybot S&D and also am using AVG Free Antivirus.
Here's the Hijack This results:

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 12:06:15 PM, on 4/2/2010
Platform: Windows Vista SP2 (WinNT 6.00.1906)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18904)
Boot mode: Normal
Running processes:
C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe
C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
C:\Windows\WindowsMobile\wmdSync.exe
C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG9\avgtray.exe
C:\Windows\system32\wbem\unsecapp.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe
C:\Windows\system32\SearchProtocolHost.exe
C:\Windows\system32\SearchFilterHost.exe
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sb/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Ricebelt Telephone
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
O2 - BHO: &Yahoo! Toolbar Helper - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: WormRadar.com IESiteBlocker.NavFilter - {3CA2F312-6F6E-4B53-A66E-4E65E497C8C0} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG9\avgssie.dll
O2 - BHO: Spybot-S&D IE Protection - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Browser Address Error Redirector - {CA6319C0-31B7-401E-A518-A07C3DB8F777} - C:\Program Files\BAE\BAE.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPEnh] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Mobile-based device management] %windir%\WindowsMobile\wmdSync.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG9_TRAY] C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG9\avgtray.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] "C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\YahooMessenger.exe" -quiet
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Spybot - Search & Destroy Configuration - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O13 - Gopher Prefix:
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - https://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O18 - Protocol: linkscanner - {F274614C-63F8-47D5-A4D1-FBDDE494F8D1} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG9\avgpp.dll
O20 - AppInit_DLLs: avgrsstx.dll
O23 - Service: AVG Free WatchDog (avg9wd) - AVG Technologies CZ, s.r.o. - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG9\avgwdsvc.exe
O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: Dell Wireless WLAN Tray Service (wltrysvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\WLTRYSVC.EXE
O23 - Service: XAudioService - Conexant Systems, Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\xaudio.exe
--
End of file - 4751 bytes
 

Marshallsw

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
4
If that log doesn't help then could you guys tell me some ways I can drastically speed my laptop back up? I mean it is as slow as an internet browser running on dial up. Oh which reminds me, I'm using cable internet. Its not the internet. The whole computer is slowwww
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
As a test try this.....you need more memory tho

How to Start in Safemode with Networking

1. Restart your computer.
2. Before the windows logo you should gently tap the F8 key repeatedly until you are presented with a Windows XP Advanced Options menu.
3. Select the option for Safe Mode with Networking using the arrow keys.
4. Then press enter on your keyboard to boot into Safe Mode.
5. Do whatever tasks you require and when you are done reboot to boot back into normal mode..
 

Marshallsw

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
4
Yes, I definitely could use some more RAM but I know there has to be something I can do to help it run better. Are there any programs I could download to repair or speed it up or settings I could change to help it run faster? Cause even with 512mb ram it should run better than this...
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
1GB is recommended for Vista......you could try a different Anti-Virus.........try one in my Sig
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,300
Let's see what you have installed in that laptop that can be gotten rid of, updated, or replaced.

Start HijackThis, but don't run a scan.

Click on the "Open The Misc Tools Section" button.

Click on the "Open Uninstall Manager" button.

Click on the "Save List" button.

Save the "uninstall_list.txt" file somewhere. It'll then open in Notepad.

Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the entire file here.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Besides having a measly 512 MB of RAM, it's my guess that laptop has a low-end AMD Sempron processor. The combination of both with Windows Vista is going to make it run slow.

That laptop supports a maximum of 2048 MB(2 GB) of RAM. A 1024 MB(1 GB) module sells for about $30.00 at the MEMORYX site and the CRUCIAL site. I highly suggest you purchase matching modules and max out the RAM in that laptop.

What's the 7-character "service tag number" of that laptop?

-------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top