1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Physical Memory Usuage HIGH

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Marshallsw, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Marshallsw

    Marshallsw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,
    I have a bit of a problem.. It's causing my laptop to run extremely slow..
    I've narrowed it down to svchost.exe ... in my task manager there are like 7 or 8 of them. one or two of them are using up 40-50mb of physical memory... What do I do?
    My CPU usuage stays pretty low but my phsyical memory usuage stays around 70%-90% at all times.
    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Marshall
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You could post your HijackThis log and see if anything shows up


    Download HijackThis to your desktop
    • Double click on HJTSetup.exe on your Desktop
    • Click Run and Install
    • It will install to Program files by default
    • it will launch Hijack This
    • Click on "scan system and save a logfile" usually in notepad
    • Copy and Paste the logfile in your next post
    • Using Ctrl+A to copy All and Ctrl+C to copy and Ctrl+V to paste.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,888
    First Name:
    Frank
    Post a HijackThis log here, as requested.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    How much RAM does your computer have?

    What's its brand name, model name, model number?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    Multiple svchost.exe entries in the Windows Task Manager is normal.

    My Vista desktop has 10 of them.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Marshallsw

    Marshallsw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hey,
    My laptop is a Dell Inspirion 1501. It's OS = Windows Vista Home Basic, it has 512mb RAM, it has a 1.80ghz processor. I realise the specs aren't all that great but I KNOW that it can run better than this. I've already read up on a few threads prior to posting this and discovered the Ausdefrag and CCleaner, I've used both. I also have downloaded and ran Spybot S&D and also am using AVG Free Antivirus.
    Here's the Hijack This results:

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 12:06:15 PM, on 4/2/2010
    Platform: Windows Vista SP2 (WinNT 6.00.1906)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18904)
    Boot mode: Normal
    Running processes:
    C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe
    C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    C:\Windows\WindowsMobile\wmdSync.exe
    C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG9\avgtray.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\wbem\unsecapp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\SearchProtocolHost.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\SearchFilterHost.exe
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sb/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Ricebelt Telephone
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
    O2 - BHO: &Yahoo! Toolbar Helper - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: WormRadar.com IESiteBlocker.NavFilter - {3CA2F312-6F6E-4B53-A66E-4E65E497C8C0} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG9\avgssie.dll
    O2 - BHO: Spybot-S&D IE Protection - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: Browser Address Error Redirector - {CA6319C0-31B7-401E-A518-A07C3DB8F777} - C:\Program Files\BAE\BAE.dll
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPEnh] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Mobile-based device management] %windir%\WindowsMobile\wmdSync.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG9_TRAY] C:\PROGRA~1\AVG\AVG9\avgtray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] "C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\YahooMessenger.exe" -quiet
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Spybot - Search & Destroy Configuration - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O13 - Gopher Prefix:
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - https://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O18 - Protocol: linkscanner - {F274614C-63F8-47D5-A4D1-FBDDE494F8D1} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG9\avgpp.dll
    O20 - AppInit_DLLs: avgrsstx.dll
    O23 - Service: AVG Free WatchDog (avg9wd) - AVG Technologies CZ, s.r.o. - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG9\avgwdsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    O23 - Service: Dell Wireless WLAN Tray Service (wltrysvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\WLTRYSVC.EXE
    O23 - Service: XAudioService - Conexant Systems, Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\xaudio.exe
    --
    End of file - 4751 bytes
     
  5. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    I think you need more memory in that laptop.
     
  6. Marshallsw

    Marshallsw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    If that log doesn't help then could you guys tell me some ways I can drastically speed my laptop back up? I mean it is as slow as an internet browser running on dial up. Oh which reminds me, I'm using cable internet. Its not the internet. The whole computer is slowwww
     
  7. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    As a test try this.....you need more memory tho

    How to Start in Safemode with Networking

    1. Restart your computer.
    2. Before the windows logo you should gently tap the F8 key repeatedly until you are presented with a Windows XP Advanced Options menu.
    3. Select the option for Safe Mode with Networking using the arrow keys.
    4. Then press enter on your keyboard to boot into Safe Mode.
    5. Do whatever tasks you require and when you are done reboot to boot back into normal mode..
     
  8. Marshallsw

    Marshallsw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Yes, I definitely could use some more RAM but I know there has to be something I can do to help it run better. Are there any programs I could download to repair or speed it up or settings I could change to help it run faster? Cause even with 512mb ram it should run better than this...
     
  9. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    1GB is recommended for Vista......you could try a different Anti-Virus.........try one in my Sig
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,888
    First Name:
    Frank
    Let's see what you have installed in that laptop that can be gotten rid of, updated, or replaced.

    Start HijackThis, but don't run a scan.

    Click on the "Open The Misc Tools Section" button.

    Click on the "Open Uninstall Manager" button.

    Click on the "Save List" button.

    Save the "uninstall_list.txt" file somewhere. It'll then open in Notepad.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the entire file here.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------

    Besides having a measly 512 MB of RAM, it's my guess that laptop has a low-end AMD Sempron processor. The combination of both with Windows Vista is going to make it run slow.

    That laptop supports a maximum of 2048 MB(2 GB) of RAM. A 1024 MB(1 GB) module sells for about $30.00 at the MEMORYX site and the CRUCIAL site. I highly suggest you purchase matching modules and max out the RAM in that laptop.

    What's the 7-character "service tag number" of that laptop?

    -------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914201

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice