1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ping Failure, I'm connected but can't browse?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by PiciaN, Dec 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PiciaN

    PiciaN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hello guys

    I hope you will be able to help me with this one,
    I have Dell Inspiron 1525, I run diagnostics and it says Ping Fail-exactly: response: default gateway,
    No Response: DHCP server
    I am connected wireless to internet, everything shows I am connected, I can use skype but I can't browse internet,

    I checked all browsers
    I removed all security software
    I downloaded update drivers for wireless card

    and still nothing...

    Here is what I did next:

    S
    tart, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Typed command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    and here is what I have:

    sorry it's in polish language tak means yes and nie means no

    Microsoft Windows [Wersja 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. Wszelkie prawa zastrzezone.

    C:\Users\admin>ipconfig/all

    Konfiguracja IP systemu Windows

    Nazwa hosta . . . . . . . . . . . : admin-PC
    Sufiks podstawowej domeny DNS . . :
    Typ wezla . . . . . . . . . . . . : Emisyjny
    Routing IP wlaczony . . . . . . . : Nie
    Serwer WINS Proxy wlaczony. . . . : Nie

    Karta Ethernet Polaczenie sieciowe Bluetooth:

    Stan nosnika . . . . . . . . . . .: Nosnik odlaczony
    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Urzadzenie Bluetooth (siec osobista)
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-F2-F5-F8
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Tak
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak

    Karta Ethernet Polaczenie lokalne:

    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-5D-2D-E4
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Tak
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak
    Adres IPv6 polaczenia lokalnego . : fe80::29fb:a6bf:89f1:b320%14(Preferowane)

    Adres IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferowane)
    Maska podsieci. . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Dzierzawa uzyskana. . . . . . . . : 16 grudnia 2011 18:02:38
    Dzierzawa wygasa. . . . . . . . . : 16 grudnia 2011 20:12:40
    Brama domyslna. . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Serwer DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Serwery DNS . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS przez Tcpip . . . . . . . : Wlaczony

    Karta bezprzewodowej sieci LAN Polaczenie sieci bezprzewodowej:

    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3C-54-39-29
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Tak
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak
    Adres IPv6 polaczenia lokalnego . : fe80::3d8e:55b3:7850:7db3%10(Preferowane)

    Adres IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferowane)
    Maska podsieci. . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Dzierzawa uzyskana. . . . . . . . : 16 grudnia 2011 18:52:59
    Dzierzawa wygasa. . . . . . . . . : 16 grudnia 2011 20:08:54
    Brama domyslna. . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Serwer DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Serwery DNS . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.204.152.34
    194.204.159.1
    NetBIOS przez Tcpip . . . . . . . : Wlaczony

    Karta tunelowa Polaczenie lokalne* 2:

    Stan nosnika . . . . . . . . . . .: Nosnik odlaczony
    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{CE57D53A-EEF4-4EAC-9403-F26290508
    AFF}
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Nie
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak

    Karta tunelowa Polaczenie lokalne* 6:

    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Nie
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak
    Adres IPv6. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:3082:e6f:3f57:fffb(Prefe
    rowane)
    Adres IPv6 polaczenia lokalnego . : fe80::3082:e6f:3f57:fffb%13(Preferowane)

    Brama domyslna. . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS przez Tcpip . . . . . . . : Wylaczony

    Karta tunelowa Polaczenie lokalne* 7:

    Stan nosnika . . . . . . . . . . .: Nosnik odlaczony
    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3626968F-EF12-4459-B1B7-2FF3A21E8
    8F9}
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Nie
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak

    Karta tunelowa Polaczenie lokalne* 11:

    Stan nosnika . . . . . . . . . . .: Nosnik odlaczony
    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{CE57D53A-EEF4-4EAC-9403-F26290508
    AFF}
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Nie
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak

    Karta tunelowa Polaczenie lokalne* 12:

    Stan nosnika . . . . . . . . . . .: Nosnik odlaczony
    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Karta Microsoft ISATAP #5
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Nie
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak

    Karta tunelowa Polaczenie lokalne* 14:

    Stan nosnika . . . . . . . . . . .: Nosnik odlaczony
    Sufiks DNS konkretnego polaczenia :
    Opis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP wlaczone . . . . . . . . . . : Nie
    Autokonfiguracja wlaczona . . . . : Tak

    C:\Users\admin>

    any ideas Guys?

    Thank you for your help
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try these repairs first ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. PiciaN

    PiciaN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Terry

    It's very funny that you are the person who replied to my message because I was reading other threads in this subject and saw your answers which I liked and here you go, answer to mine as well.

    Thank you for you help

    I did what you suggested but still nothing after I rebooted.

    Maybe you will have any further ideas?

    Thank you
    Peter
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try these tests (in a Command Prompt, as you did with ipconfig /all). In the above ipconfig /all you were connected by both ethernet and wireless (which was great, 'cause we got to see both); for these tests make sure you are connected by only one--and tell us which.

    ping 192.168.0.4 (or whatever your current IPv4 address is)

    ping 192.168.0.1

    ping 194.168.4.100

    ping 8.8.8.8

    ping yahoo.com
     
  5. PiciaN

    PiciaN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi Terry

    Thank you for fast response.

    When I am connected with cable it's working fine, it's only wireless not working.

    I did as you wrote and final message I got is that it cannot find yahoo.com host and ask me to find another one and try again (translation from polish language). I tried different websites like google.com etc and message is the same.

    What else it can be wrong?

    Thank
    Peter
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,178
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's a DNS problem. I didn't notice before (sorry!) that the DNS servers for the two connections are different. Set the wireless connection to use those DNS servers that the ethernet is using. If you need instructions on how to assign them see configuration info here. You could also use the Google servers, but the ones on your ethernet (194.168.4.100 and 194.168.8.100) should be fine.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031522

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice