1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ping request could not find the host...Can't connect to the internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by fangy, Nov 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fangy

    fangy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    So all the computers seems able to connect to the internet except one.

    My ip config/all


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Fang-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82578DC Gigabit Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-0A-A9-FF-FE-EE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-65-9D-DA-51-3E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c35:3a6d:6e73:b54c%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.107(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : November-25-13 11:18:51 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : November-26-13 11:24:44 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 191896068
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-21-C8-4C-C8-0A-A9-FF-FE-EE

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{27A56586-B66C-4EC4-BF30-55AFA0AA2D0A}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Need help :/
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you connect the PC by cable directly to the router - does it work OK

    would you do the following
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.1.1
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. fangy

    fangy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Hey
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    For 192.168.1.1:
    C:\Users\Fang>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 1ms
    For Google.com
    C:\Users\Fang>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .
    For 209.183.226.152
    C:\Users\Fang>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
     
  5. fangy

    fangy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Yeah it works!
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so its just the wireless thats an issue

    a few things to try with just the wireless

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Remove the wireless security
    Is your wireless security enabled?
    if so - log into the router and remove the wireless security - now see if it will connect.
    if it does - log back into the router and try with the wireless security enabled again

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    - try safemode with networking (sometimes wireless does not work with safemode )
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
     
  7. fangy

    fangy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    So, I tried safe mode with wireless and it doesn't work but it works while connected to the router.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try removing the wireless security
     
  9. fangy

    fangy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Unfortunately, I can't access my WiFi security since the one who is responsible who settled up the modem,router is not here at the moment...


    Other computer seems to work fine except the one that has problems connecting on the wifi
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    when he returns, then see if you can get the security removed
    this can often resolve the issue, connecting to the non-secure and then re-secure the wireless
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,596
    First Name:
    James
    It may be possible that the the person responsible for the router has blocked you from the internet wirelessly. (Whether it's on purpose or accidental). Please make sure they have no MAC Filtering enabled.
     
  12. fangy

    fangy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Is it possible to check if the mac filtering is enabled using my computer?
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,596
    First Name:
    James
    You will to do that at the router's configuration page.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1113858

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice