1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ping resolving inccorect ip

Discussion in 'Networking' started by evo6gsr, Jul 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. evo6gsr

    evo6gsr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Hi,

    My situation is this...

    I have a machine which is connect to adsl via usb. and the other nic connect to my lan. ip of my nic is 192.168.0.1/255.255.0.0 and the ip for the adsl is done via dhcp.

    This pc also acts as a domain controller and dns server. The problem is that whenever i ping my computers hostname it resolves to the ip of my isp rather than 192.168.0.1. Does any one know how to change this.

    Thanks,
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Are you running ICS on the machine connected to the ADSL modem? If so, how did you manage to get a subnet mask of 255.255.0.0? It should be 255.255.255.0.

    If you're not running ICS, exactly what kind of proxy server are you running?

    While you're at it, what's the version of Windows on the host machine, and on the connecting client machine.
     
  3. evo6gsr

    evo6gsr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    I manually confugred the static ip of the server and used 255.255.0.0 since my clients use 192.168.1.* via dhcp.

    I am not running ics but am using NAT.

    The server is using win 2003 and clients use xp.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Unless ALL the computers on your network use the subnet mask 255.255.0.0, I'm guessing you'll have issues connecting directly. Why do you have 192.168.1.0 and 192.168.0.x addresses ranges? There's no reason to complicate the setup like that.
     
  5. evo6gsr

    evo6gsr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    All computers on the network have a subnet of 255.255.0.0. I have chosen these addresses just as a design implication. servers are 192.168.0.*, clients are 192.168.1.* etc,

    from the other clients, if i ping my servers computer name it resolves to the correct ip (192.168.0.1) however if i ping the server form the server itself i get the ip of the ISP.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/483473

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice