1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ping Test: No Response: Default Gateway, DHCP Server

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by pierrebab1, Feb 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Hey,

    So I'm somewhat of an idiot when it comes to computers, and I'm having quite a hard time here.

    I currently have 3 laptops running on a D-Link DIR-615 wireless router.

    2 of them are running fine, but the 3rd one can't connect to the Internet. Well, sometimes it will for a few seconds, but most of the time, it will time out, and Internet's always dropped.

    When I ran a Intel PROset/Wireless Manual Diagnostic, all the test pass except for the Ping Test. Sometimes, it will say "Response: Default Gateway, No Response: DHCP server", although most of the times, both have no response.

    Here's the interesting thing: I have the laptop for about 6 weeks now. At the beginning, it worked perfectly well. After 4 weeks, Internet kept crashing. Did a system restore, and Internet worked for a few days ...then, out of the blue, started crashing again, and now I can't connect ever (even though I always show a strong signal reception on my icon).

    I have no idea what to do here. I've been going through forums, tried the following:

    - Changing wireless channel
    - TCP/IP stack repair options
    - Calling Dell (what a joke that was...)

    I just don't understand why one laptop doesn't connect (even though it did 3 weeks ago without problem) and the 2 other ones work great ...my roomates are getting tired of me borrowing their laptops, so I need to figure this out!
    PLEASE HELP !!!

    Thanks !!

    PS: I'm running on a Dell laptop with Win7 ...the other laptops, we have a Dell with WinXP and a HP with WinXP
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,454
    Does it give an error message when Internet Explorer 'crashes' ?

    Try another browser, like Firefox.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may have to borrow room mates to copy to here some more :)

    lets see an xirrus screen shot also an ipconfig /all and ping tests - see details below

    it maybe the firewall blocking - what firewall do you have Dell often add mcafee and unless you are going to pay the subscription, i would remove the security suite - if you look at the security section here - most of the gurus feel the windows 7 firewall is more than adequate and also that for a virus scanner use the free Microsoft security essentials

    see below on how to remove macafee

    its possible the wireless may work in safemode with networking if so then that proves something in normal mode is blocking - if not - then it does not prove anything , as o say its may work in safemode with networking

    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Mcafee RemovalTool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
     
  4. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    I tried it in safe mode with networking - Internet worked fine!

    I did the ipconfig , here was the result:



    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Pierre-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 14-FE-B5-BF-14-DA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c137:6:1636:a0f0%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.106(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : February-19-12 5:11:41 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : February-26-12 5:11:57 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::86c9:b2ff:fe5d:b8%15
    192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-72-89-58-22-0E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-72-89-58-22-0E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 1030
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-72-89-58-22-0D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2075:5733:78e8:59df%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : February-19-12 5:12:23 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : February-26-12 5:12:22 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::86c9:b2ff:fe5d:b8%12
    192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : P‚riph‚rique Bluetooth (r‚seau personnel)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : AC-72-89-58-22-11
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C3953261-5237-4D3A-B101-5CEEBD71AB6C}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{E6EF10F5-9762-4E0B-841F-464DC5CE59CC}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1c65:35b4:e734:5669(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c65:35b4:e734:5669%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    Then, I uninstalled Mcafee ..Internet's working fine now!!! Last time I did the system restore, it worked for a few days and started acting up again, so I'll wait about a week and let you know if it worked out!

    THANK YOU SO MUCH !!!!
     
  5. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Alright, well .. that wireless Internet connection worked for about 10 minutes...

    Here's an attached picture of the printscreen for the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector ...

    Anything else I can try? I removed Mcafee, did the ipconfig /all , tried it in safe mode (and it worked well!), and well now the Xirrus ...

    Also, no it doesn't show a message when it crashes, it just times out (because there's no connection ..)



    Pleeaassseeeee help me figure this out!! haha

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  6. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Oh yeah, and on the picture, my network is the top one (banane2)
     
  7. etkt505

    etkt505

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Not sure if you or roomates know how to manipulate the router settings.

    If you can somehow check the router filtering settings, might be blocking your laptop, like MAC filter or similar
     
  8. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    What settings would I look for exactly ? ..
     
  9. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mac filtering is off ..if that's what I'm supposed to look for !
     
  10. etkt505

    etkt505

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Try connecting to router via ethernet. If it works, then try resetting your router to clear out any settings

    Warning: Resetting your router will erase all settings and start fresh, so you will have to configure security, SSID etc from scratch
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what a busy wireless environment - although channel 11 look OK

    was that in safe mode that it stopped working

    as it works in safemode and not normal I would suspect something is blocking or a virus / malware

    do you have any other firewalls on the system like
    Avg, norton, symantec etc ?
     
  12. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Internet doesn't work on my computer when I try on other networks too, so I don't think it's a problem with the router ..
     
  13. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    It always works in safemode with networking.
    When it worked for that +/- 10 minutes, it was in normal mode ...

    I have Windows Security Essentials (running a full scan right now), and I use windows Firewall ....using all recommended settings!

    Also, my computer crashed the other day, got a blue screen and shut off by itself.
    When it turned on again, I got this error message:


    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 4105

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: d1
    BCP1: 0000000000000042
    BCP2: 0000000000000002
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: FFFFF88005A2D849
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\021812-17425-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Pierre\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-59046-0.sysdata.xml

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt


    Not sure if it's related?
    ..I regret buying a Dell: since I bought it, had to replace the screen (the right side turned black) after having it for about 8 weeks, then my harddrive crashed about 4 weeks later (they put a new one in near the end of December), and now this ...
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the fact its working in safemode and not in normal implies theres something occuring - could be hardware or a virus of somekind

    lets try a tcp/ip reset , which you have already done - see below

    have a read here and post the logs
    http://forums.techguy.org/virus-other-malware-removal/943214-everyone-must-read-before-posting.html
    then we can move to the virus / malware forum

    also hopefully someone can read the mini dumps
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. pierrebab1

    pierrebab1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    19
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1041714

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice