1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Pixelated screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jimmy5star, Jun 17, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Jimmy5star

    Jimmy5star Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    First Name:
    Jim
    This has been an ongoing [almost 1 yr!] problem. The monitor screen image, "suddenly became pixelated". I upgraded the video card, thinking that was the problem. No change. I've attached a screen shot to show what my display looks like. This problem also affects any and all video viewing, burning DvD's, you name it. It doesn't work properly. I usually am able to resolve any PC or MAC problems, but this has me stymied!
    Heres the sysinfo:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 32653 Mb

    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 530, 1024 Mb - Could this be the problem?

    Hard Drives: C: 893 GB (325 GB Free); D: 1862 GB (689 GB Free); G: 2794 GB (1905 GB Free); H: 4657 GB (4533 GB Free); I: 7451 GB (3435 GB Free); J: 4657 GB (2018 GB Free); K: 7451 GB (4252 GB Free); L: 5588 GB (3469 GB Free); M: 3725 GB (2018 GB Free); N: 7451 GB (1767 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., Z170 PRO GAMING
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
    For some reason unknown, Video card was not detected in this sysinfo file. I have a
    GeoForce GT 740
    Operating System: Windows 10 Enterprise, 64-bit
    DirectX version: 12.0
    GPU processor: GeForce GT 740
    Driver version: 399.24
    Direct3D API version: 12
    Direct3D feature level: 11_0
    CUDA Cores: 384
    Core clock: 993 MHz
    Memory data rate: 1600 MHz
    Memory interface: 128-bit
    Memory bandwidth: 25.60 GB/s
    Total available graphics memory: 20422 MB
    Dedicated video memory: 4096 MB DDR3
    System video memory: 0 MB
    Shared system memory: 16326 MB
    Video BIOS version: 80.07.26.00.C8
    IRQ: Not used
    Bus: PCI Express x16 Gen3
    Device Id: 10DE 0FC8 109A10DE
    Part Number: 2011 0000
     

    Attached Files:

  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,239
    First Name:
    Frank
    The NVIDIA GeForce GT 740 graphic card in your computer has a very outdated driver - 399.24
    The most current driver for Windows 10 64-bit is 430.26
    https://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/147964/en-us

    Download and save the driver file, then close all open windows, then install it.
    Select the "Custom" option, then select the features you want, then do a clean install.

    See if that helps.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Jimmy5star likes this.
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,547
    First Name:
    Allan
    If Frank's advise to update the driver doesn't help it could be a Ram problem since the Graphics card uses some System ram.

    I would check the ram with Memtest86 free version :- https://www.memtest86.com
    Make a bootable Usb stick and run Memtest86 by booting with it.
    Let it make at least one full Pass. This could take a long time considering you have 32GB of ram so running it overnight could be a good idea.

    Do/did you get the same problem using the motherboard's built-in graphics, with the GT 740 removed ?
     
  4. Jimmy5star

    Jimmy5star Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    First Name:
    Jim
    Thank You for the quick response! I'll do this right now and get back to you to let you know the results. Thanks again!
    Jim
     
  5. Jimmy5star

    Jimmy5star Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    First Name:
    Jim
    No change Frank. But I do thank you for the help.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,239
    First Name:
    Frank
    Oh well, it was worth a try. :(

    Have you read post #3?

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Jimmy5star

    Jimmy5star Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    First Name:
    Jim
    I'll try removing the card, but i'd rather remove the default motherboard option. Memtest found no errors. Im happy about that! ;-)
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,547
    First Name:
    Allan
    Not sure what you mean by 'default motherboard option' - please explain.
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,941
    First Name:
    James
    Probably the onboard video

    (edited: did not see picture) Did you take a picture of that, or was that a screen shot from the computer (i.e. you PRTSCRN/Snipping Tool it)
     
  10. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,547
    First Name:
    Allan
    Yes but installing a graphics card usually causes the card to become the default device.
    Perhaps I'm missing something though, I'm no expert about graphics.

    Looks like a screen-shot to me since 'png' is in the filename.

    Hopefully the OP will answer both questions soon.
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,941
    First Name:
    James
    yeah if it is the latter (screenshot) I don't think it's hardware.
     
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,547
    First Name:
    Allan
    I'm not so sure, I can't see how a software problem could cause this.
     
  13. Jimmy5star

    Jimmy5star Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    First Name:
    Jim
    The NVidia is the default , onboard disabled as a result. The "png." is indeed a screen shot.
    I'm at my wits end with this. Maybe [ probably, at this point] just go with a new motherboard.
    Thank You all for the help. It is appreciated.
     
  14. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,547
    First Name:
    Allan
    As a test have you tried using the built-in (motherboard connector) graphics ? You have to remove the Graphics card to do so.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2019
  15. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,941
    First Name:
    James
    To give you an idea, I have a machine that had a black band issue on the bottom of screen and I replaced everything hardware related.... I ended up giving the user a new machine because I was frustrated and then after installing her specific programs, within a week the issue came back so I am thinking it's some software she has..

    I do agree though, try the onboard first before replacing parts, and make sure your chipset/bios/etc. are up to date.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1228733

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice