1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Play Xbox 360 through laptop?

Discussion in 'Games' started by proevomad, Sep 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. proevomad

    proevomad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Is it possible to play my xbox360 through my laptop?

    I have a DELL inspiron 9300 widescreen laptop, bought 01/06. It has xp and windows media centre. it also has what looks like a tv input (i live in the UK, is it the same as everywhere else?) in the back.
     
  2. proevomad

    proevomad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Anyone?
     
  3. proevomad

    proevomad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    No love for this then???
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Welcome to TSG. The people who answer questions are volunteers who log on whenever they have time. You need to be patient. It's been less than a day since your original post, and not everyone logs in here on the weekends.
     
  5. proevomad

    proevomad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    ok thanks, hope someone can answer. it would be sweet i f i could use my laptop to play xbox games cause my girlfriend likes to watch crap on the tv.
     
  6. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    do the 360's have av cables?

    if so you may be able to using a wireless router to your laptops moniter
     
  7. proevomad

    proevomad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    i have all the cables that came with the xbox360, and i have a wirless router for it and another for my pc and laptop.

    but how do i do this?
     
  8. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    is the router a 2 way router?
    if not it wont work , and you have to have 2 parts like the diagram below


    XBOX 360- Laptop
    ' av cables ' - dispaly cable
    ' '
    Router-------------------------------- router-'


    thats what i was thinking of..... can your routers do that?
     
  9. proevomad

    proevomad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    mmm your getting technical now, and i'm quite stupid.

    is there no way i can just plug my xbox's out cable into my laptop.

    i dont really understand what a two way router is..sorry. they are the xbox360 official wirless adapter and a BTvoyeger 2110 wirless router
     
  10. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    i believe the officail wireless router is for online play , ill explain it simpler for you;)

    does you wireless router have 2 boxes with anteneas ?
    thats what you need for this to work , if you could post a picture of the back to the xbox and the lap top so i could see all the connections that may help
     
  11. proevomad

    proevomad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    THANKS FOR THE HELP.

    its 1am here in the uk now so i going to bed, but i will post the pics tomorrow.

    hope you get chance to look.

    thank you again.

    my router is only 1 peice
     
  12. SouthParkXP101

    SouthParkXP101 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    7,107
    ok pics will help goodnight
     
  13. mike2507

    mike2507

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Not sure if this is what you want But I have a Question my self. Ofton times I get a icon in the lower right side of the monitor that says>Xbox360 detected" Any one know if by chance my next door nieber or who evers xbox can be tap in to from my lap top. PS my lap top has Blue tooth.
     
  14. xStaH

    xStaH

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Unless your laptop as a VGA in port, there is NO way to connect your Xbox 360 to your laptop. Most laptops have VGA out and/or S-Video out, but I haven't seen any that have in ports.

    There is a work around. Adaptec released something called the Adaptec Gamebridge. I think its discontinued now, but you can find it all over the internet. MSRP is $59.99, but I found one for $10.00. Just Google it. It is a box that allows you to plug the RCA or S-Video cables directly into it, and then it connects directly to you computer through a USB 2.0 port. Graphics, however, are not enhanced, as the box claims. I use component HD cable to connect my Xbox to my television, and the graphics are significantly poorer quality then on my TV. The sound also skips. Check it out though, I've used it and it is an ok temporary fix if you are on the road or LAN-ing up with some buddies.
     
  15. markspark762

    markspark762

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    i have the same problem i have a dell Inspiron 9400 and a Netgear624v3 wireless router i have a program that can record it on your laptop screen but u get lag and you can play games that a 60hz in colour so im not sure what to do can any1 help(y)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/505664