1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please advise me on what to do (IE)

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by wahine, Mar 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wahine

    wahine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    OK, I've got 5.0 and cannot go up because it's not there anymore... should I press on with IE6?

    I am having very odd behavior when online. I have a cable modem and at times my PC just freezes... if I shut of the modem it takes about a minute and I'm back running again.

    I've run Scandisk and Defrag as I just finished getting my PC back up and running after much trouble.

    Is it me? Or is it a freak thing with IE5?

    ALSO I've got my back up .wab from before the crash but it was from IE6 is that why it won't load on my PC now (because I'm running IE5)?

    :confused:
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    First, what operating system are you running, please?

    Also, you should be able to upgrade to IE 6.0 SP1 without a problem.

    What is preventing this? Are you getting any error messages we ought to be aware of?
     
  3. wahine

    wahine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    TonkyKlein,

    OS: Windows 98 4.10 (Build 2222A)

    I haven't even tried to d/l IE6 so no, I'm not getting any errors just plan fear of it not working like it did before my PC crashed. The issue with the "red x's".

    Do you think if I upgrade to IE6 the odd behavior will stop?

    Here is another weird instance, just now when I went to check my spelling in Word I got a flash of a blue screen and it went away... it's too weird what's going on?!?
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    About the "odd behavior", it's by no means certain whether upgrading IE will fix that.

    It all depends on what's causing it.

    Let's have a closer look at your configuration:

    Go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/downloads.php#det, and download 'Hijack This!'.

    Unzip it, launch Hijack This, then press "Config" > "Miscellaneous Tools", and press "Generate Startuplist Log"

    This will generate a text file that will list all running processes, all applications that are loaded automatically when you start Windows, and more.

    Go to Edit > select all, copy it and post its contents here.
     
  5. wahine

    wahine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Will this do?

    I cannot get to the page you provided it won't let me in. I get the following...

    "The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings."

    ~~~

    StartupList report, 3/30/03, 11:18:13 AM
    StartupList version: 1.52
    Started from : D:\MISC PROGRAMS\STARTUPLIST 1-52\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v5.00 (5.00.2614.3500)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ETRUST\VPN\EVPN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOGWAT95.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\VETMSG9X.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPUTER ASSOCIATES\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ ANTIVIRUS\VETTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPUTER ASSOCIATES\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ FIREWALL\EFPEADM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPUTER ASSOCIATES\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ DESKSHIELD\PE\BIN\ETRUSTCIPE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPUTER ASSOCIATES\ETRUST EZ ARMOR\ETRUST EZ DESKSHIELD\PE\BIN\MWATCH.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSIMN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\AIM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE
    D:\MISC PROGRAMS\STARTUPLIST 1-52\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    eTrust EZ Firewall.lnk = C:\Program Files\Computer Associates\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Firewall\efpeadm.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LogWatch = C:\WINDOWS\LogWat95.exe
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    eTrustCIPE = "C:\Program Files\Computer Associates\eTrust EZ Armor\eTrust EZ Deskshield\PE\BIN\EZDSMain.EXE"
    Vet Alert = C:\WINDOWS\System\VetMsg9x.exe
    VetTray = C:\PROGRA~1\COMPUT~1\ETRUST~1\ETRUST~1\VETTRAY.EXE
    POINTER = point32.exe
    LoadQM = loadqm.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    eTrust VPN Manager = C:\Program Files\eTrust\VPN\evpn.exe hide
    InoTask = C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust\InoculateIT\InoTask.exe
    InoRT = C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust\InoculateIT\InoRT9x.exe
    InoRPC = C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust\InoculateIT\InoRpc.exe
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 30/3/2003, 3:45:32)

    [Rename]
    nul=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\~ef7194.tmp
    NUL=c:\windows\cookies\diana [email protected]rtising[2].txt
    NUL=c:\windows\cookies\diana [email protected][1].txt
    NUL=c:\windows\cookies\diana [email protected][1].txt
    NUL=c:\windows\cookies\diana [email protected][2].txt

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37705.6070833333

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [YInstStarter Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

    [dldisplay Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\GHDLCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.gamehouse.com/ghdlctl.cab

    [{9DBAFCCF-592F-FFFF-FFFF-00608CEC297C}]
    CODEBASE = http://download.weatherbug.com/minibug/tricklers/AWS/minibuginstaller.cab?rand=200332823

    [Shockwave ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating ShellServiceObjectDelayLoad items:

    WebCheck: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WEBCHECK.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,609 bytes
    Report generated in 0.205 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Your log looks pretty much OK.

    As you're still running the original version of IE that came with the operating system, upgrading to IE 6.0 SP1 would be a good first step.

    Before you do that, empty the contents of your C:\Windows\Temp folder in its entirety, and close down all unnecessarily running programs, especially your antivirus.

    After upgrading, go to the Windows Update site > Product Updates, and download and install ALL critical updates on offer.

    Keep us informed on your progress!
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Oops, wait a moment, there's one big thing I overlooked:

    You're running a combination of 3 different antiviruses: Vet, Norton, and EZ TRust.

    This can by itself very well be the cause of your problem. You should have only ONE antivirus running.


    Make up you're mind which one you want to keep, and uninstall the others, or at least stop them from starting automatically as Windows starts.

    Try that first, and see whether it helps.
     
  8. wahine

    wahine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    I will! Cheers!
     
  9. wahine

    wahine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    Well... so far so good, it's only been a short while and I'll let you know what happens during the remainder of the day and report back again tomorrow or late tonight.

    I have noticed one thing... my Outlook Express takes a little longer to load. I did compact all my folders and really don't know what else to do there... oh well :rolleyes:

    Will post again tomorrow - much thanks to ya! :D
     
  10. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    What exactly did you do so far? Just disabling the duplicate antiviruses?

    If that's the case your slow Outlook Express could be due to a missing or corrupted imagehlp.dll, and I'd advise you to upgrade to IE 6.0 SP1 all the same.
     
  11. wahine

    wahine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    No, I uninstalled Norton awhile ago and those items won't go away...

    So the only thing I've done is d/l and install IE6.
     
  12. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I also suppose you're not running InoculateIT any more, as it has been discontinued, and have replaced it by eTrust?

    If that's the case, go to Start > Run, type Msconfig and locate and uncheck the following on the Startup tab:

    InoTask = C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust\InoculateIT\InoTask.exe
    InoRT = C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust\InoculateIT\InoRT9x.exe
    InoRPC = C:\Program Files\CA\eTrust\InoculateIT\InoRpc.exe
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg

    Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot.

    Cheers,
     
  13. wahine

    wahine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    I do that every time I am on the PC and they keep coming back no matter what I do... they're not that after the inital re-boot but when I go back again they're there.
     
  14. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Do you still have InoculateIT installed??

    In that case the program's settings may well overrule those you make using Msconfig.

    Shut the program down, and uninstall it.
     
  15. wahine

    wahine Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    86
    It is uninstalled - it just won't leave :) I do have EZ Armour installed.

    I just went to delete the notificaiton message and got a blue screen again so I don't think the IE6 upgrade made a difference... I wish I knew what is causing that. :confused:
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/126306

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice