1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please Help, Accidentally Saved In Temp

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Carolinamom1, Nov 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Carolinamom1

Carolinamom1 Thread Starter

Hi,

I am a student, and sometimes instead of using my jump drive, I email my CAD files from school to my home address to work on. I worked on my file for a long time, hit save, and got out. However, since I had gotten the file from an email, I believe it saved in a temp folder. I have not cleared the cache, but I have done a gazillion searches and I cannot find it.

PLEASE HELP, it is a lot of time and work!

Thanks,

Leslie:eek:

2. Jaymie1989

Jaymie1989

Hi,

There's 2 places where it could be 1 is this
    C:\Documents and Settings\(Your computer name)\Local Settings\Temp
    You might need to allow your self to see hidden and system files to view it so do this
    Open any folder, click on Tools, Folder options then View. Go down to hidden files and folders and click on show hidden folder and files then ok. and you should see it there.

The other place is

My computer > Windows > TEMP its more unlikely that it will be in there.

3. Carolinamom1

Unfortunately I could not find it in either place. I know I hit save, I just don't know where it is and it is weird that I cannot find it with a search.

4. Byteman

Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

Hi. I know this has been posted, but there is one small change that may help you.

You may need to set these settings to find the file:

You can change these settings back to what you had or want after....

Now, open Windows Explorer, and look through the Documents and Settings/yourusername/Local Settings/Temporary Internet Files folder

5. moper

moper