1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please Help: BB Desktop manager Installation opens up everytime i play a video in WMP

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Urir1, Dec 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Urir1

    Urir1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Hi All

    I seem to have a very strange issue with my Win 7 (64) setup. About a month ago i had to install the BlackBerry desktop Manager to set up my friends PlayBook, after that i uninstalled it. Now i have a strange problem, every time i try to play a video with Windows Media player it opens the player and then starts the BB Desktop Manager installation and the video wont play. If i close the installation it will just start it again and again and again until i close WMP.

    I tried some registry cleaners and special uninstallers to make sure i got rid of everything that has to do with the BB Desktop. I have eSet antivirus installed with anti spyware, its fully updated and everything scanned clean.

    Can anyone suggest on something i can try?
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    1- Please click HERE to download HijackThis.
    2- Run the program.
    3- Click on the Main Menu button if not already there.
    4- Select Do a system scan and save a logfile.
    5- Copy and paste the scan log from Notepad into your next reply.
    6- Do not "Fix" anything unless advised to do so.

    For Windows 7 and Vista:

    If Windows is denying access to the Hosts file, run HijackThis as Administrator or disable the UAC first.

    ===================================================================

    Please download and run Autoruns.

    Click on File.

    Click on Save…

    Save the new AutoRuns Data (*.arn) file to your desktop.

    Close the Autoruns program.

    Right-click on the new desktop AutoRuns .arn file.

    Select Send To > Compressed (zipped) Folder.

    Attach the compressed file to your next reply.

    How to Attach a File on TSG
     
  3. Urir1

    Urir1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Thanks Phantom010

    Here is a copy of the log file from HijackThis.

     

    Attached Files:

  4. Urir1

    Urir1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    I actually tried opening a video with Media Player Classic and got the same issue. Works fine with VLC thou.
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    The only reference to BlackBerry I can see is a driver:

    RimUsb BlackBerry Device Driver Research In Motion Limited c:\windows\system32\drivers\rimusb_amd64.sys

    I don't think it'll be enough but run Autoruns again.

    Select the Drivers tab.

    Uncheck the above driver and restart the computer.

    Test the issue at hand.
     
  6. Urir1

    Urir1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    hmm didnt help.

    Funny thing is i download the BB software again and installed it, after that movies played fine while it was installed. As soon as i uninstall it i get the issue back. I guess i will have to leave it installed.
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try Process Explorer.

    Run the program and leave it open.

    Run Windows Media Player.

    Note which process is opening at the same time for the BlackBerry installation.

    Right-click that process and click Properties.

    Select the Image tab.

    Note the path in the Command line: bar.

    It will give you an indication of what should be removed, or at least where it's coming from.
     
  8. Urir1

    Urir1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Thanks, i will try it when i get home. The only thing i noticed so far is that it starts the MS installer (msiexec.exe)
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Yes, you'll see the MSIEXEC.EXE process but the same Command Line should give you the path to the BlackBerry setup file as well.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Please Help Desktop
  1. Dragonracer5688
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    503
  2. Tmart00
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    482
  3. Dontlisten
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    320
  4. captainron276
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    647
  5. Kdwms
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    378
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031402

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice