1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

please help don,t know what to do

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bettyr, Jan 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bettyr

    bettyr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    my husband changed isp user, now after i have logged in and been on far awhile and then get off and shut down,when i go back to connect , i get a message that say(633 the modem(or other connection device) is already in use or not confiquerd properly. i called tect support and he changed some setting on it then i restarted it ,i had nothing, couldn,t connect are bring up anything on my computer. he said my modem went out. toled me i had to take it in to have it fix. when i hung up with him, i done a restore on my computer and it,s working just that i have to shut down to get it to connet again, does anyone have any idears what i can do .i have window xp securitypack2. my isp is webinity.com
     
  2. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Microsoft Solution

    Earthlink solution ( seems somewhat simpler )

    Earthlink is my ISP so I looked there.

    wrs
     
  3. bettyr

    bettyr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    thank you, i don,t know anything about computers, so can i ask you ,
    since im useing xp and have a different isp than yours, will it all be the same as yours . if so i will follow your direction.
     
  4. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    I would think the fix would work on any isp since it seems to be the corupted file on your pc . . not in their system. . I guess the MIcorsoft way might be the safest, but it is not the most straightforward.

    wrs
     
  5. bettyr

    bettyr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    thank you ,i just printed out the instruction,that way i want make a mistake.
    will let you know how it worked tomorrow
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/325402

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice