1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please help- "Explorer caused an invalid page fault"

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by DaveF321, Jan 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DaveF321

    DaveF321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    I keep getting this message whenever I try to go onto Internet Explorer. "EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in module MFC42.DLL at 015f:5f45bf8a." Do I need to reinstall IE-5? Is there a fix for this? Please lead me in the right direction. Thanks.
     
  2. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    Try downloading the vcredist_enu.exe file (assuming english language) from http://download.microsoft.com/download/vc60pro/Update/1/W9XNT4/EN-US/VC6RedistSetup_enu.exe
    The link for it is at http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q259403

    Run it to extract the vcredist.exe file and run that on your machine to see if it helps. This will replace mfc42.dll (and a bunch of associated files) with the more recent ones and register them. It's possible that some install has overwritten them with older versions.

    Is your ie5 actually ie5.01sp2 ? If so there is a repair IE function availaable.

    I think we should probably see your startups. Try downloading http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip . Unzip it and run it to produce a text list which you should post here.

    I'm assuming you have another browser to use (other than IE) for this - or are you working form another machine?
     
  3. DaveF321

    DaveF321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    I don't have any way to save it to a file so I can read it. I can't unzip it. Also how do I find out exactly which version of Internet Explorer I have. Sorry for being so computer illiterate.
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    If you have IE open just click on the "Help" tab, then "about IE"

    The IE Repair Tool will be available in Add/Remove Programs > Internet Explorer >Remove > Repair if it is available at all.

    If you don't have the IE Repair Tool available, you can probably just reinstall Windows to correct the error.
     
  5. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    For determing IE versions using the Shdocvw.dll file see:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;164539

    I can't unzip it.
    http://www.winzip.com and download winzip.

    I don't have any way to save it to a file
    I'm not sure what you mean here.
    Is this a reference to the startuplist thing? If so, then it makes a text file in the directory it's run from.
    If this refers to the downloads then right click and save as may work.
     
  6. DaveF321

    DaveF321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    I got this from www.startlog.com. It was the only way I could copy and paste it here. I hope this gives you the info you asked for.

    And I have IE-5.0

    "StartUp"


    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "TaskMonitor"="c:\\windows\\taskmon.exe"
    "TIPS"="C:\\MOUSE\\tips\\mouse\\tips.exe"
    "RealTray"="C:\\Program Files\\Real\\RealPlayer\\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER"
    "LoadPowerProfile"="Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme"
    "ScanRegistry"="c:\\windows\\scanregw.exe /autorun"
    "Disknag"="C:\\DELL\\DISKNAG.EXE"
    "SystemTray"="SysTray.Exe"
    "POINTER"="C:\\MOUSE\\point32.exe"
    "MCAgentExe"="C:\\Program Files\\McAfee.com\\Agent\\mcagent.exe"
    "MCUpdateExe"="C:\\PROGRA~1\\MCAFEE.COM\\AGENT\\MCUPDATE.EXE"
    "VirusScan Online"="\"C:\\PROGRA~1\\MCAFEE.COM\\VSO\\mcvsshld.exe\""
    "DDT"=""
    "XupiterStartup"="C:\\Program Files\\Xupiter\\XupiterStartup2003.exe"
    "XupiterCfgLoader"="C:\\Program Files\\Xupiter\\XTCfgLoader.exe"
    "RealJukeboxSystray"="\"C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\REAL\\REALJUKEBOX\\tsystray.exe\""
    "MSMSGS"="C:\\Program Files\\Messenger\\msmsgs.exe /background"
    "winmodem"="WINMODEM.101\\wmexe.exe"
    "LoadPowerProfile"="Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme"
    "SchedulingAgent"="mstask.exe"
    "McAfeeWebScanX"="C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\\WebScanX.Exe /RUNSERVICES"

    C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp\Office Startup.lnk
    C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp\Quicken Startup.lnk
    C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp\Billminder.lnk
    C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp\Microsoft Find Fast.lnk
    C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp\America Online 7.0 Tray Icon.lnk
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    That's only a partial list of the startup.log, but even from that I can see you have a lot of spyware there and possibly other issues.

    Spybot would be the appropriate removal tool.

    http://tomcoyote.com/SPYBOT/

    Can you get online and download if first you go to start>run, enter msconfig and clear the check for "load startup group items" on the General page?

    Be sure to use the Right Click > Save Target As option to specify a download folder to download to.
     
  8. LuvMeme

    LuvMeme

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    I have this exact same problem only I have IE6 and "Ad-Aware plus" I run Ad-Aware Plus everytime I turn my computer on...?? I'm getting this error plus the XUPITERSTARTUP2003... I can't go any where on my computer for these errors.
    So I'm on my little computer searching for help...can you help me?
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Luvmeme, Ad-aware has not been updated in months, pending a new version to be offered.

    Install, update, and run Spybot following the directions at this site and your Xupiter problems should be solved:

    http://tomcoyote.com/SPYBOT/
     
  10. LuvMeme

    LuvMeme

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Hi,
    I went to msconfig, closed out all the start up programs and went online, I still get page faults in explorer, it won't let me go anywhere!
    Is there a way for me to remove Xupiter myself? Maybe from safe mode or something? Cripes this is a mess!
    Where's the scream smiley?:confused:
     
  11. Conliskmatt

    Conliskmatt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    How Microsoft will help you uninstall Xupiter
    __________________________________________________

    If you have Internet access go to www.xupiter.com/uninstall
    Install the plugin and restart the computer when prompted
    __________________________________________________

    If you do not have access to the internet.
    Step 1: Restart the computer into Safemode
    Step 2: Click Start > Run
    Step 3: Type "scanregw" without the quotes
    Step 4: Click yes - to back up the registry
    Step 5: Click Start > Run
    Step 6: Type "regedit" without the quotes
    Step 7: search for "xupitertoolbar" without the quotes
    Step 8: Remove the folder with the numbers under:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/CLSID/
    Step 9: Click My Computer at the top of the left list
    Step 10: Search for "XTupdate" without the quotes
    Step 11: Remove the folder with the numbers under:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/CLSID/
    Step 12: Click My Computer at the top again
    Step 13: Search for "XTsearch" without the quotes
    Step 14: Remove the folder with the numbers under:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/CLSID/
    Step 15: Close the Registry Editor
    Step 16: Click Start > Run
    Step 17: Type "msconfig" without the quotes
    Step 18: Click on the Startup tab at the top
    Step 19: Uncheck anything dealing with Xupiter
    Step 20: Click Apply and Ok
    Step 21: Click yes to restart the computer
    __________________________________________________

    *** Now the internet should work ***
    __________________________________________________

    Go to the site www.Xupiter.com/Uninstall
    Install the plugin and restart the computer when prompted
     
  12. LuvMeme

    LuvMeme

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Thank you,
    I ended up loading Netscape on my computer, first thing I did was download Spybot, it got rid of a bunch of xupiter stuff.
    I clicked on my IE6, it comes up loads the home page, then just disappears into thin air!
    I can't get my internet provider dial up either, I'm using another one for the time being w/ Netscape.
    I will go to that site and get the plug in and take care of that xupiter stuff! I can't believe how bad they can mess up your computer!
    You are so kind to send me this information.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112181

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice