1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please help getting internet on win xp

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by dociledragons, Jan 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dociledragons

    dociledragons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I formated and installed a fresh copy of windows xp and installed all the drivers from Acer web site. They dont' have the ethernet driver. So my internet doesn't work. Wireless or wired. I have another computer that's connected to the internet so I know it's working.. here is some info that may be needed...

    ACER apsire one ( I was informed the this is the 250 model)
    Windows XP pro.
    I typed "ping 127.0.0.1" on the CMD prompt and got
    reply from 127......
    lost is 0

    I think I just need the drivers but not sure.. any help would be \great. thanks

    The device manager stats:

    Ethernet Controller
    Network Controller
    PCI Device
    SM Bus Controller
    Video Controller
    Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

    They all have A yellow exclamation mark on top of a Question mark if the matters. thanks for all your help.
     
  2. RaytheBear

    RaytheBear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Did you re-install all your Service Paks 1,2 and 3?
    Because with the SPaks it should be able to get drivers for some of the above you listed.
    For your Ethernet Card, take down the Make and Model # and go directly to the Manufacture and get the Drivers from there.
    And do likewise for all the ones you are missing.

    Good luck
    Ray
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the drivers are all here
    http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers
    also install the chipset

    there are various versions of the wireless drivers for different manufacturers

    if you do the following we should be able to identify the manufacturer
    right click on the device with a yellow!
    Properties
    Click on the Details Tab
    Under Property - drop down
    Select hardware ids
    Right click and select all.
    Then right click again and select copy.
    Copy and paste that here.

    The Hardware ID's. VEN & DEV. Look them up here.
    http://www.pcidatabase.com/
     
  4. dociledragons

    dociledragons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I Installed SP3. Didnt' work.

    I already went to acer and D/L all Drivers but, once I installed the chipset driver windows wouldn't restart. How to revert back to last known configuration.

    I dont' know what you mean on how I look it up but, this is what they say:
    hardware ids
    PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_C0
    PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&SUBSYS_022F1025
    PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&CC_020000
    PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&CC_0200

    network controller ids
    PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&SUBSYS_E01B105B&REV_01
    PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&SUBSYS_E01B105B
    PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&CC_028000
    PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&CC_0280

    SM bus controller
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_02
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&SUBSYS_022F1025
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&CC_0C0500
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&CC_0C05

    video controller
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_03
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&SUBSYS_022F1025
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&CC_038000
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&CC_0380
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    You provided the vendor and device codes, but you apparently didn't go to the PCIDatabase.com site and identify the devices, per etaf's instructions, so I've done it for you.

    The full model number of that Acer Aspire One netbook is needed. It should be on a sticker on the case.

    If you can't find the Windows XP drivers and chipset at the Acer support site, they're available for these devices at the Intel, Broadcom, Atheros, and other sites.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. dociledragons

    dociledragons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    **Flavallee or etaf**
    I didn't know how to look them up.. I guess i'm not the brightest in the bunch.. I thanks you for doing this for me they all worked except "network adaptor". I went to Broadcom.com but I couldn't find the BCM4315 listed. There was one something like BCM4313 but that one didn't work. Doesn't it figure that the one I wanted most I can't find.. can you look into it for me. thanks

    Also The actual model number is ACER KAV60. However that wasn't listed so I was told the KAV60 were acually AOD250. Which is suspicious considering only the sound driver worked.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Broadcom site no longer lists and supports it, so it took me awhile to find a driver.

    Go here to download and save driver version 5.10.79.14.

    Close all open windows first, then double-click the saved file to install it.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    It looks like etaf and I both found a driver at the SoftPedia site. (y)

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. dociledragons

    dociledragons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Unfortunately neither of those worked
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    :( :eek:
     
  11. dociledragons

    dociledragons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    anybody, anybody please. I just need the wirless to work..
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you can't get the built-in wireless to work, you may need to settle for buying and using an external USB wireless adapter.

    I've seen them go bad in some laptops.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. dociledragons

    dociledragons Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    yeah but tring to stay free
     
  14. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    Try the ACER site again that etaf linked you to in post #3.

    The driver versions from the softpedia site that we linked you to don't work, according to you, so the options to resolve this problem have gotten pretty limited.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973558

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice