Please help getting internet on win xp

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dociledragons

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
9
I formated and installed a fresh copy of windows xp and installed all the drivers from Acer web site. They dont' have the ethernet driver. So my internet doesn't work. Wireless or wired. I have another computer that's connected to the internet so I know it's working.. here is some info that may be needed...

ACER apsire one ( I was informed the this is the 250 model)
Windows XP pro.
I typed "ping 127.0.0.1" on the CMD prompt and got
reply from 127......
lost is 0

I think I just need the drivers but not sure.. any help would be \great. thanks

The device manager stats:

Ethernet Controller
Network Controller
PCI Device
SM Bus Controller
Video Controller
Video Controller (VGA Compatible)

They all have A yellow exclamation mark on top of a Question mark if the matters. thanks for all your help.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2010
Messages
628
Did you re-install all your Service Paks 1,2 and 3?
Because with the SPaks it should be able to get drivers for some of the above you listed.
For your Ethernet Card, take down the Make and Model # and go directly to the Manufacture and get the Drivers from there.
And do likewise for all the ones you are missing.

Good luck
Ray
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
the drivers are all here
http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers
also install the chipset

there are various versions of the wireless drivers for different manufacturers

if you do the following we should be able to identify the manufacturer
right click on the device with a yellow!
Properties
Click on the Details Tab
Under Property - drop down
Select hardware ids
Right click and select all.
Then right click again and select copy.
Copy and paste that here.

The Hardware ID's. VEN & DEV. Look them up here.
http://www.pcidatabase.com/
 

dociledragons

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
9
I Installed SP3. Didnt' work.

I already went to acer and D/L all Drivers but, once I installed the chipset driver windows wouldn't restart. How to revert back to last known configuration.

I dont' know what you mean on how I look it up but, this is what they say:
hardware ids
PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_C0
PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&SUBSYS_022F1025
PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&CC_020000
PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&CC_0200

network controller ids
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&SUBSYS_E01B105B&REV_01
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&SUBSYS_E01B105B
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&CC_028000
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&CC_0280

SM bus controller
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_02
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&SUBSYS_022F1025
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&CC_0C0500
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&CC_0C05

video controller
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_03
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&SUBSYS_022F1025
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&CC_038000
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&CC_0380
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,264
hardware ids
PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_C0
PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&SUBSYS_022F1025
PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&CC_020000
PCI\VEN_1969&DEV_1062&CC_0200

Chip Number: AR8132
Chip Description: Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller


network controller ids
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&SUBSYS_E01B105B&REV_01
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&SUBSYS_E01B105B
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&CC_028000
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&CC_0280

Chip Number: BCM4315/BCM22062000
Chip Description: Broadcom Wireless b/g


SM bus controller
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_02
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&SUBSYS_022F1025
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&CC_0C0500
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DA&CC_0C05

Chip Number: 82801G
Chip Description: Intel[R] 82801G (ICH7 Family) C- 27DA


video controller
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&SUBSYS_022F1025&REV_03
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&SUBSYS_022F1025
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&CC_038000
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27A6&CC_0380

Chip Number: 945GM
Chip Description: Intel 945GM/950
You provided the vendor and device codes, but you apparently didn't go to the PCIDatabase.com site and identify the devices, per etaf's instructions, so I've done it for you.

The full model number of that Acer Aspire One netbook is needed. It should be on a sticker on the case.

If you can't find the Windows XP drivers and chipset at the Acer support site, they're available for these devices at the Intel, Broadcom, Atheros, and other sites.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

dociledragons

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
9
**Flavallee or etaf**
I didn't know how to look them up.. I guess i'm not the brightest in the bunch.. I thanks you for doing this for me they all worked except "network adaptor". I went to Broadcom.com but I couldn't find the BCM4315 listed. There was one something like BCM4313 but that one didn't work. Doesn't it figure that the one I wanted most I can't find.. can you look into it for me. thanks

Also The actual model number is ACER KAV60. However that wasn't listed so I was told the KAV60 were acually AOD250. Which is suspicious considering only the sound driver worked.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,264
The Broadcom site no longer lists and supports it, so it took me awhile to find a driver.

Go here to download and save driver version 5.10.79.14.

Close all open windows first, then double-click the saved file to install it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

It looks like etaf and I both found a driver at the SoftPedia site. (y)

-----------------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,264
If you can't get the built-in wireless to work, you may need to settle for buying and using an external USB wireless adapter.

I've seen them go bad in some laptops.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,264
Try the ACER site again that etaf linked you to in post #3.

The driver versions from the softpedia site that we linked you to don't work, according to you, so the options to resolve this problem have gotten pretty limited.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top